We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly old place” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center to your Saves list
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   413 Paseo del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Denver, CO
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Smelly old place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

Location is all it's got. The free breakfast was so bad we only had it once. The non-smoking room smelled of smoke and we wore our shoes on the dirty carpet. The beautiful lanscaped garden? Nothing but dirt and weeds. 2 towels in a room with 2 queen size beds. I do have to admit there was lots of hot water and the mattresses were comfortable.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dirty and smelly
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    55
    54
    70
    86
See reviews for
78
113
20
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2007

We booked on Travelocity - 4 of us for a night in room with 2 queen beds. When we arrived after a long day of hiking the front desk tells us we have room with a King bed and accuses Travelocity of making a mistake. The best he can offer us is a rollaway. After calling Travelocity and confirming that it was the hotel's fault, the front desk finally admitted to it being their fault but couldn't offer us anything else because they were fully booked as was everything in town. We were so hungry we stayed for the night anyway but left very early. The room wasn't very clean, the AC didn't keep it cool, and the rollaway was very uncomfortable. Had they admitted their mistake I might have more goodwill towards the place, but they were incredibly rude and I had a horrible nights sleep. Buyer beware.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2007

This is by far the most disgusting place I have ever seen! We weren't looking for anything really nice, just a place to stay as we passed through. We checked in, walked in the door of the room, turned around and walked back to the lobby for a refund! My kids have been wanting to stay at a Best Western because of some commercial advertising one I think in Missouri. Best Western must not have any standards. The outside is deceiving. It is extremely old with obviously no updates or remodeling - filthy red shag carpet. It was the darkest, most depressing sight! The funniest part, is they charged us $130/night plus $17 tax.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2007

The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakast buffet was nice. The indian dance was interesting to watch. Not sure that I liked the fact that they asked for tips, but.... The property is old but was in decent shape.

  • Liked — the staff was friendly
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene OR
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2007

While first impressions were good this hotel is long overdue for an upgrade. Avoid this place if you are sensitive to mold. The staff however was very helpful, the location was ideal and the extras were nice.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Far unlit unknown
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2007

This property is about what one would expect from a Best Western. It's not luxurious, but the rate was reasonable, the room was clean, and it was within walking distance of the Plaza. Our room with two queen beds was pretty large, and comfortably accomodated the beds, a loveseat, and a table with two chairs and had a separate dressing area adjacent to the bathroom. The room rate included a breakfast buffet, which was not lavish, but included hot items as well as cereals. Unfortunately, the property is apparently in the process of changing hands, and as a result, according to the staff I spoke to, things like the juice dispenser that have broken have not been fixed. The property does have a large pool, which was quite clean, and my daughter enjoyed her swim. During our stay, a group of dancers from Taos Pueblo performed in the evening, which was nice.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2007

We arrived in Taos on a hot day in July. We were looking forward to cooling off in the pool. It was all green, were told that it wasn't a problem and that maybe someone put green dye in the water. RIght! It was full of algae, they said it was alright to swim in, needless to say we didn't. Our first room was on the main road and we asked to be put further back, no problem. They gave us our key and someone else was still in that room and it didn't have the correct size bed we had requested. Go back down to the lobby and get another room and this room hasn't been cleaned yet so we go back down to the lobby and Drew, the receptionist, just said, Oh well, come back later. Our room was finally ready well after 5:30pm. The entire motel needs an updating. Old looking, worn and musty smelling. We were supposed to spend two nights but left after just one night.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center

Address: 413 Paseo del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
118 Full Service Resort Style Property. Nightly Taos Pueblo Indian Dances May-Oct. Outdoor Heated pool. Full Hot Breakfast included in Rate. Complimentary WIFI, shuttle (within 5 mile radius) 24 hr desk staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kachina Lodge Resort And Meeting Hotel Taos
Best Western Taos
Taos Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.