We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit Shabby” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center to your Saves list
Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   413 Paseo del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Albuquerque
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Bit Shabby”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I have stayed at the Kachina several times in the last 10 years but don't remember it as this shabby. The Kachina has a certain charm but I was disappointed there was no coffee pot in the room. Although there is coffee to be had in the lobby it is quite a hike from the rooms. The rooms are very quiet and there was a balcony off our second floor room which was nice. The weather was cool and rainy while we were there so I didn't get to go to the pool which I remember as being pleasant.
A big plus is that the Kachina is in walking distance of the Plaza and Bent Street which is important to me when I am in Taos.
I will stay here again but will not have my expectations up.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    53
    51
    65
    80
See reviews for
72
108
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This hotel is very old but mostly clean. The bathroom - not so clean. There was hair in the tub and the baseboards were grimy. We wanted to eat supper but were told that they closed the restaurant early. We thought this was strange -since it was Saturday evening. The grounds are nice with lots of grass and trees and the outdoor pool was nice. The hot tub was out of order so we could not use it. We drove down the road and found The Guadalajara Grill. It was good authentic Mexican food. Large servings for a great price.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back of the property are quiet and more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

First of all you have to understand that Taos is a quaint town. There is no glitter and glitz. Restaurants close at 9:00 pm, stores are small artisan shops selling local fare, the sidewalks are cracked, weeds grow in abundance, and the local people are casual, friendly and unpretentious. Given that background, we found the Kachina Lodge to be quite representative of the town. The staff was courteous and helpful, the property is older and built in the traditional southwest style so you know you're in New Mexico not New York. The rooms were clean and well kept even though you tell it was built in an earlier era. The property is in the middle of town, so walking to and from restaurants and shops was easy. There were Indian tribal dances every evening on the property that added local color. If you want to immerse yourself in the Taos style and culture, the Kachina will work very well for you. If not, try one of the chains you can stay in anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The office manager was helpful in redoing my reservation. She did more than I expected in helping me stay at the motel. We stayed there about 9 years ago and found this stay just as good.
I am surprised at the negative comments about this hotel. I thought it was a great value. We stayed in a room with a king sized bed and were pleased. We will return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

We Stayed at The Kachina Lodge for 3 Days from July 7th - July10th 2012. It was very Clean and So Quiet Even Though they can accommodate a lot of travelers. Free Full Breakfast and Jenny The Kiva Coffee Manager Made Our Stay So Worth Wild! She is very knowledgable on the Must Sees and Keep Us Fully Entertained. it's a Family Owned Lodge and their Rates are so Reasonable. Also Nightly at 8 pm the Indians Dance in the Round Courtyard..!,,,

So Call and Book Your Room Today ! And Enjoy !!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

First room a/c didn't work, carpet torn, mouse trap set between beds,wax ring on tolit leaked,tv reception bad, ice machine not working, no coffee in rooms, could not get coffee till 7am, breakfast not till 7am, dishes dirty,staff not helpfully, asked 4 times for roll-away, then wheel broken & lopsided. Better places for the money!!

Room Tip: Go someplace else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I've stayed there 3-4 times over the last 40 years. Housekeeping is less than stellar, but no where near the horror stories I've read here. It maintains much of its old motor-lodge funky charm, and my wife and I found it comfortable. Its ready for a major face-lift, but no bad smells, no grime, no mold.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center

Address: 413 Paseo del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
118 Full Service Resort Style Property. Nightly Taos Pueblo Indian Dances May-Oct. Outdoor Heated pool. Full Hot Breakfast included in Rate. Complimentary WIFI, shuttle (within 5 mile radius) 24 hr desk staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kachina Lodge Resort And Meeting Hotel Taos
Best Western Taos
Taos Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kachina Lodge Resort and Meeting Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.