We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret in Taos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Touchstone Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Touchstone Inn to your Saves list
Touchstone Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   110 Mabel Dodge Lane, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 26 Taos B&B and Inns
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
“Best kept secret in Taos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Comfy rooms and excellent service.... anything better than that??? We will go back over and over again. The place has charm, comfort, and a wonderful breakfast, made to order if you request it. Very sweet couple runs the place single-handly. We adore this place and would recommend it highly to friends and family wanting to get away and nuturing their souls. :)

Room Tip: Take a look at features. Fireplace and hot tub are really only important in cold weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    12
    1
    4
    9
See reviews for
12
56
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stayed for a couple days with my girlfriend while skiing at Taos Ski Resort. Winter time is really slow in the city of Taos so we were the only ones staying at the location. Hosts met us outside open arrival and gave us a free upgraded room! Really tough to locate the place by the way if your GPS does not locate the road its on....it's kind of hidden away. The road its on "Mabel Dodge" is named after a famous Taos prostitute from the past lol.....

Anyway, we were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived and saw how nice the room was inside as we have not had much luck with bed and breakfasts in the past nor has tripadvisor been reliable in the past when places have been rated highly. Really liked the fireplace in the room which the host helped me light up when i had no luck. We are from Texas and are not used to the cold so much there but the room has radiant heat so the floor warms up and is nice on bare feet. The room they upgraded us to had a whirlpool bath and a nice strong shower.

Breakfast was really nice as both of the hosts are chefs and cook things right there for you and even asked me what time I wanted to eat. They are also knowledgeable about where to eat locally for dinner and can recommend some great places.

Couple minor issues.....weren't able to get internet service to work as the adobe walls block wifi pretty well. The host brought over a hot spot but I had no luck with that either. Phone and internet service is really spotty in Taos overall so take care of your internet stuff when you can pick up a signal in town. The only other thing is the TV in the room is really tiny and the hosts indicated this is something they are upgrading in the future.

Room Tip: Go to their website. It has good photos to help you choose the room and theme.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights hoping for a restorative vacation from our hard working life. This remarkable place exceeded all expectations and when we reluctantly checked out we felt renewed in body and soul. The lovely treed setting and beautiful historical buildings set the stage for the interior that is tastefully decorated with fine art and regional furnishings and crafts, a unique representation of Taos then and now. This is an inn with a real sense of place and terrific innkeepers who create an atmosphere that lends itself to rejuvenation and retreat. Brad and Amber are both accomplished professional cooks who together create some of the best breakfasts that we have ever had, anywhere. Haute breakfast cuisine at its best each morning with surprise components such as oven roasted tomato sauces, home made bagels, hints of lavender and rosemary. Our room was a pleasure to return to after our days out and about in the Taos area. Radiant floors, a fireplace stocked with wood, a jacuzzi in a beautifully New Mexico tiled bathroom, and a custom made brass bed with beautiful linens created a wonderful home away from home for our winter stay!

Room Tip: Highly recommend our room, number 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

A really wonderful bed and breakfast - beautiful, great attention to detail, deliciously healthy food, remarkable hosts and in a prime location.

Hosts: Amber and Brad are the most accommodating, kind and thoughtful hosts you could ask for. They were able to work with our food restrictions of a nut allergy (me) and no meat (my boyfriend) without compromising the beauty, variety, or integrity of the breakfasts we had each morning. They source organic and used the Meyer lemons I brought from my CA backyard. Their passion for food and all things culinary is inspiring and you can taste and see it in the meals they prepare for guests. Brad has a wealth of knowledge and experience beyond the kitchen that he brings to his work and in conversation. Amber is the same and sets out cookies that we demolished every time we entered the common area (sorry to the other guests!) and having grown up on the property and in the town, she knows so many wonderful secrets and recommendations to make you feel at home, on the inside and welcomed in the area. They are all about making your stay the best for you whether that means being left alone to privacy or engaged in conversation and friendship. Amber and Brad in and of themselves are a rarity one strives to find in anything, we were happily surprised and appreciative to have had the opportunity to stay at their establishment.

Accommodations: The two acre property is set back from the main road just a mile up from the town center, affording beautiful privacy from the bustling tourists yet an easy and light walk to reach it all. I recommend taking the walk into town as the single main road into town gets really backed up even in the off season and parking can be at a premium. Taking a walk into town allows you to take in the beauty of the adobe buildings, the many shops and galleries, and the clean crisp Taos air. We stayed in two of the rooms because of a full house and late booking. The first room, the Frida was marvelous. Perfectly spacious with a king bed you could sleep a family in! The deck overlooked the backyard and was perfect for cooling down on after a soak in the jet tub. Great room. The second room was the Cielo which was much smaller in every regard but enough space for two with luggage for a week. The mattress wasn't as comfortable as the first room but was nothing to complain about. **To keep in mind - this is an old house, rich in history and beauty, that has been converted into a bed and breakfast. You will not get the quiet of hotel rooms that are sound proofed for high occupancy if that's what you are looking for. The trade offs of feeling at home and cared for are undoubtedly worth it.

Misc. notes: The Love Apple just down the driveway is the best restaurant we found with sustainable and organic foods. They book up fast so a reservation a day before is a must. There are a plethora of coffee shops in the area, Cafe Taza and Coffee Cats were charming, unique and of quality. Eske's brew pub brews their own beers and offers flights to taste all of them if you can't decide. Doc Martin's has live music each night and good menus and food quality though not consistent.

Room Tip: To keep in mind - this is an old house, rich in history and beauty, that has been converted into a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Lunas, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

I stayed at the Touchstone for the New Year holiday. Amber and Brad were wonderful hosts. It was like staying with relatives.... none of the impersonal stuff. They were helpful with directions and sight seeing options. I will definitely tell my friends about this place!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubrey, Texas, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

The family stayed at the Touchstone the week folowing Christmas day. We found the room cozy and warm. Everyone was comfortable. Brad and Amber were very accommodating to our kids request for breakfast related to kids usual likes, i.e. pancakes and sausage....really appreciated that accomodating spirit. Mom and Dad enjoyed the daily breakfast items for those with more adult oriented tastebuds. There were always cookies left out to snack on after we came in from our daily ski outings. We found Taos to be a great area for shopping and having our evening meal after a day of skiing. We liked skiing Red River, while staying in Taos. A first for us as we usully stay in Red River. We drove the 45 minutes from Taos to Red River each morning without issue. Would definitely repeat this family vaction, staying at the Touchstone and skiing Red River, a great combination. Thanks Brad and Amber. You guys made our first trip to Taos a success.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Found Touchstone Inn on the internet. We stayed 3 nights and couldn't of had a better time. The inn is adorable, and Brad and Amber, the proprietors are very accommodating. They're both chefs and breakfast, which is included each morning was delicious. They were more than happy to help us with the sights around Taos. I would highly recommend The Touchstone Inn in Taos, you won't be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Touchstone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Touchstone Inn

Address: 110 Mabel Dodge Lane, Taos, NM 87571
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Touchstone Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secluded inn close to everything Taos! Touchstone is a secluded historic estate at the edge of Taos Pueblo lands. The native peoples consider Touchstone to be medicine land and a place for transformation. Touchstone offers cozy rooms with fireplaces and Jacuzzi tubs in most of them. We cater to couples as a romantic getaway and to groups as a retreat center, workshops and weddings. Both USA Today and Fodor's Guide say Touchstone is the #1 place to stay in Taos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Touchstone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Touchstone Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.