We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Touchstone Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Touchstone Inn to your Saves list
Touchstone Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   110 Mabel Dodge Lane, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 25 Taos B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

We just spent four wonderful days in Taos. What made the trip so unforgettable was our fortunate discovery of 'The Touchstone Inn'.

Brad & Amber were perfect hosts. They took special care in preparing unique & delicious breakfasts for us. They were most generous in providing for our every need.
Our room (the Freida Room) was lovely with a nice view of the mountains.
We found their recommendations for restaurants, sights & shops to be excellent. Again, we had a most enjoyable stay. Never have we felt so welcomed anywhere and we have been fortunate to have been able to travel in the last 5 years.

Even though we are back in New York, we feel a real connection to this place...memories, we will always keep and a a friendship we will cherish.

We definitely want to go back !

Room Tip: Book Early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    12
    1
    4
    10
See reviews for
13
56
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Touchstone was a wonderfully quiet getaway in Taos. We did visit during pre-pre-season with the goal of having a quiet getaway. It was perfect. The rooms were cosy and welcoming. So much so that we spent one afternoon doing nothing but napping and watching TV. Breakfast was great and filling. Just perfect for starting the day.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

We were looking for a short, but special, birthday getaway and we found this and more at Touchstone. From the moment we made the reservation, Amber and Brad were on top of things.We stayed in the Lawrence room (if you were looking at a prior post, the bed has been replaced and is very comfortable...we had difficulty waking in time for the fabulous breakfasts). The room had a wood-burning fireplace which we used both nights and a large jacuzzi tub.

We made the reservation at Touchstone because it was a good deal...we'll be back because of the personal service, the ambiance, and Brad's green chile (my mouth is watering just thinking about it).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

A wonderful gem! Brad and Amber are amazingly gracious hosts! Breakfasts were beyond delicious every morning! I will be returning with my family!

Room Tip: The Dora had beautiful views and a fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

We were on vacation in NM in March 11. We coincidentally found this inn/hotel, because it was not listed in our guide. What a nice coincidence! Amazing place. Good location, large garden for kids to play, large rooms, excellent views of Taos mountains, extremely friendly staff and breakfast prepared with care and love. We recommend this place to all who look for comfort and cordiality.

Room Tip: We stayed in room Frida which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

I had a very nice time staying at the Touchstone Inn in Taos, NM. My suite was nice and comfortable, with a workable fireplace that added a very nice touch. My bed was very comfortable. I loved the common areas, especially the living room which dates back to the early 1800's; it was very nicely furnished & a very comfortable space to just hang out in. There was a fire lit in the fireplace each monrning when I arose & went into the living room--very homey.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

This was my second stay at Touchstone following up what was a transcendent Christmas booking in 2009 with my 89-year old mom.

As I get to understand the rhythm and tempo of Taos, I grow to appreciate even more what an ideal facility this is. First of all the rooms are wonderfully appointed with great spiffs like soaking whirlpool baths and local hand-crafted tile sink and tub areas. The small cluster of buildings are situated on a wonderfully imagined small compound conveniently located just near the center of town, but nearby to great historic sites including the town square, missions, cave dwelling, active pueblos/native territories throughout the area that characterize the most stunning aspects of this part of the country.

I'll add the core value-add of these experiences have been our hosts at Touchstone. Not only are the rooms comfortable (I loved the luxury of my sprawling King bed and wood burning kiva fireplace--which they set up for me nightly). The owner, Bren Price (a renowned visual artist and local cultural activists/beacon/celebrity) and her team (headed up by an amazing guy introduced to us as "Wolf") made mid-winter stays here more than a getaway, but truly memorable events.

Family plans to celebrate my mom's 90th birthday this coming summer at Touchstone are currently underway.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Touchstone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Touchstone Inn

Address: 110 Mabel Dodge Lane, Taos, NM 87571
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Touchstone Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secluded inn close to everything Taos! Touchstone is a secluded historic estate at the edge of Taos Pueblo lands. The native peoples consider Touchstone to be medicine land and a place for transformation. Touchstone offers cozy rooms with fireplaces and Jacuzzi tubs in most of them. We cater to couples as a romantic getaway and to groups as a retreat center, workshops and weddings. Both USA Today and Fodor's Guide say Touchstone is the #1 place to stay in Taos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Touchstone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Touchstone Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.