We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesomely friendly and welcoming.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Touchstone Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Touchstone Inn to your Saves list
Touchstone Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   110 Mabel Dodge Lane, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 26 Taos B&B and Inns
New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesomely friendly and welcoming.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Touchstone was a wonderfully quiet getaway in Taos. We did visit during pre-pre-season with the goal of having a quiet getaway. It was perfect. The rooms were cosy and welcoming. So much so that we spent one afternoon doing nothing but napping and watching TV. Breakfast was great and filling. Just perfect for starting the day.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    12
    1
    4
    9
See reviews for
12
56
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

We were looking for a short, but special, birthday getaway and we found this and more at Touchstone. From the moment we made the reservation, Amber and Brad were on top of things.We stayed in the Lawrence room (if you were looking at a prior post, the bed has been replaced and is very comfortable...we had difficulty waking in time for the fabulous breakfasts). The room had a wood-burning fireplace which we used both nights and a large jacuzzi tub.

We made the reservation at Touchstone because it was a good deal...we'll be back because of the personal service, the ambiance, and Brad's green chile (my mouth is watering just thinking about it).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

A wonderful gem! Brad and Amber are amazingly gracious hosts! Breakfasts were beyond delicious every morning! I will be returning with my family!

Room Tip: The Dora had beautiful views and a fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

We were on vacation in NM in March 11. We coincidentally found this inn/hotel, because it was not listed in our guide. What a nice coincidence! Amazing place. Good location, large garden for kids to play, large rooms, excellent views of Taos mountains, extremely friendly staff and breakfast prepared with care and love. We recommend this place to all who look for comfort and cordiality.

Room Tip: We stayed in room Frida which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

I had a very nice time staying at the Touchstone Inn in Taos, NM. My suite was nice and comfortable, with a workable fireplace that added a very nice touch. My bed was very comfortable. I loved the common areas, especially the living room which dates back to the early 1800's; it was very nicely furnished & a very comfortable space to just hang out in. There was a fire lit in the fireplace each monrning when I arose & went into the living room--very homey.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

This was my second stay at Touchstone following up what was a transcendent Christmas booking in 2009 with my 89-year old mom.

As I get to understand the rhythm and tempo of Taos, I grow to appreciate even more what an ideal facility this is. First of all the rooms are wonderfully appointed with great spiffs like soaking whirlpool baths and local hand-crafted tile sink and tub areas. The small cluster of buildings are situated on a wonderfully imagined small compound conveniently located just near the center of town, but nearby to great historic sites including the town square, missions, cave dwelling, active pueblos/native territories throughout the area that characterize the most stunning aspects of this part of the country.

I'll add the core value-add of these experiences have been our hosts at Touchstone. Not only are the rooms comfortable (I loved the luxury of my sprawling King bed and wood burning kiva fireplace--which they set up for me nightly). The owner, Bren Price (a renowned visual artist and local cultural activists/beacon/celebrity) and her team (headed up by an amazing guy introduced to us as "Wolf") made mid-winter stays here more than a getaway, but truly memorable events.

Family plans to celebrate my mom's 90th birthday this coming summer at Touchstone are currently underway.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

Wolf was a wonderful, welcoming host -- a great source of suggestions for local places to visit and a fantastic cook. However, the first room we were placed in (Lawrence) had a truly decrepit bed that was very uncomfortable. Both the mattress and box spring were old and sagging. When we discussed this with Bryn and Wolf, the box spring was swapped out for another that was even worse. When we called Bryn to discuss this, she told us to call Wolf, who kindly moved us to another room. The bed in this room was not great, but better. Unfortunately, our neighbors smoked in their room and the smoke came through the room divider (their parents, our previous neighbors, had brought a small yapping dog that we could hear in our room). They were also loud until late at night despite our requests for them to be quiet. Then the long heavy curtain rod pulled out of the wall, almost falling on our heads. Carpet was also old and stained, lock on porch door was broken, candles in candle fireplace were melted and stuck to bottom of holders. Our impression is that Wolf is doing the best job he can with no help - he does the cooking, cleaning and manages spa appointments on his own, and is responsible for repairs. He's delightful and was the redeeming feature of our stay, but we would not return due to the uncomfortable bed, general state of disrepair of rooms and the noisy, inconsiderate neighbors.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldwatchingwoman, Owner at Touchstone Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
I am so sorry that the guests from our Lawrence room were not happy with their stay. After staying a couple of nights, they reported the box spring was broken which we swapped out and did not charge for breakage, which to our knowledge, was not broken before their arrival. The guests then reported that the mattress was sagging with the new box spring. As beds are our business, we provide top of the line in mattresses and test them ourselves. We moved the guests to another room and they did not express any more discomfort to us. If our guests are not happy, then we are not happy and we do want to know when there is a problem so that we can accommodate our guests to our best ability. As to complaints relating to interaction with other guests, I have no knowledge of there being dogs upstairs and no parents of neighbors who smoked. Our inn is non-smoking and we ask guests to be considerate of others. We do our best to provide comfort and ambience to our guests and I am very sorry that we failed in this case. In appreciation of this complaint, all I can do is to offer my apologies and ask for another chance with complimentary room nights. Mr. Wolf is a wonderful innkeeper and he did a great job operating short handed during our busiest season while I was dealing with 2 deaths in my family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Touchstone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Touchstone Inn

Address: 110 Mabel Dodge Lane, Taos, NM 87571
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Touchstone Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secluded inn close to everything Taos! Touchstone is a secluded historic estate at the edge of Taos Pueblo lands. The native peoples consider Touchstone to be medicine land and a place for transformation. Touchstone offers cozy rooms with fireplaces and Jacuzzi tubs in most of them. We cater to couples as a romantic getaway and to groups as a retreat center, workshops and weddings. Both USA Today and Fodor's Guide say Touchstone is the #1 place to stay in Taos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Touchstone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Touchstone Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.