We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taos Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Geronimo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added San Geronimo Lodge to your Saves list
San Geronimo Lodge
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1101 Witt Road, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 25 Taos B&B and Inns
Tucson
Top Contributor
340 reviews 340 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
312 helpful votes 312 helpful votes
“Taos Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Taking advantage of a Groupon offer, we stayed there for 4 days in August and enjoyed every minute! This B&B hacienda (circa 1925) has been tastefully reconfigured into a variety of rooms (we stayed in room 20, the former master bedroom). This was obviously a grand home for a wealthy family and still maintains such character one would expect to find in a New Mexico treasure. The B&B sits on a large parcel (3 acres) which once used to be a 100 acre dude ranch. The grounds are such fun to walk, so many interesting little places to explore. One of the owners is an artist and the walls are adorned by wonderful scenes of Taos inspired landscapes.

During our stay, the breakfasts were prepared by Lourdes who served us: huevos rancheros, Mexican style scrambled eggs with all the treats you would expect, Mexican style quiche, and the best pancakes we've had in such a long time. The Lodge has a very spacious dining area with many tables for 4. You do register your preferred breakfast time with the desk when you check in.

It is so quiet, you sometimes feel like you are the only ones staying there! I was by myself during evening dips in the heated pool (very comfortable temperature!) and loved every minute of it. The interior of the Inn had so many little places to explore; we sat and had morning coffee upstairs in the reading nook and planned our day's adventures.

The beds were exceptionally comfortable (Denver Mattress Company we have been told) and, although we were there in August, we found that the fan provided was certainly adequate for a comfortable night's sleep. It does get cool there in the evening and the French doors to the deck can be opened for added cooling. This is a beautiful 80+ year old property (going on 90 years) so you do step back in time. Isn't this what visitors here are looking for? We were and we were not disappointed.

Pam and her staff were very gracious, helpful, and attentive. For guests' use, there is a small mini refrigerator downstairs, and a microwave.

Location-wise, it is about 2 miles from the heart of Taos (an easy walk) and, if you are into hiking, Witt Road (dirt road with little traffic behind the property) makes its way (very walkable) to within a short distance of Carson National Forest trails. Pack water and wear some good walking shoes, the trail on the left goes up to 8,000+ feet. You'll know when you reach the top; there's a set of throne chairs someone made out of slabs of rock. The trails are adequately marked.

While visiting Taos, do go to the Millicent Rogers Museum and the Fechin Art Gallery and historic home (so worth the trip) and do visit the Gorge which is the Taos version of a Grand Canyon experience. While walking (everything is very flat but can go on for 9 miles), we came upon a grazing herd of either mule deer, mountain goats, or mountain sheep (solid gray with white faces) which we enjoyed from a good distance. The group consisted of more than 15 animals!

La Cueva makes the best New Mexico burritos (all meat, topped with a mildly flavored not-too-hot sauce, with beans and rice on the side instead of wrapped inside the burrito). There are no shortage of good eating places but this one was off the beaten plaza route, further down the road but easily walkable.

On your way out of town, the Viet Nam Memorial is a father's touching tribute to a fallen son. It is now part of the parks system and contains collections of artifacts from the war, including a Viet Nam era helicopter. It is a very special experience; there are boxes of tissues are located throughout the memorial for good reason.

San Geronimo Lodge is located close to town but the property is so very quiet and peaceful, you would think you are in the middle of the country. The owners' 2 dogs are adorable and the Lodge is pet friendly (on the ground floor rooms). So much beautiful wood (floors, trim work, furnishings) reinforce the historic experience and fantastic kiva fireplaces abound.

We've stayed at several B&B's during our many adventures and this lovely property is one we will return to again.

Room Tip: The former master suit has its own fireplace, a huge king-sized bed, a table and chairs, its own dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    21
    10
    6
    8
See reviews for
19
41
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monument, CO
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Had our family reunion there and had the entire place, except for one room to ourselves. The owner, Pam and her staff were so accomodating and made us feel very welcome. Rooms were clean and ea one decorated different. The beds were sssooo comfortable, my husband and I slept great. There is no a/c, a fan or portable cooler was provided upon rqst. Each morning we had a wonderful b'fast. Those in our group who I talked to about our lodging were very happy. There was a hominess and comfort we would have never rec'd at a hotel. It allowed the group to be more intimate and enjoy a nice laid back weekend. I loved it and can hardly wait to return.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 14, loved it! Clean and well laid out. We also reserved room 12 for our daughter an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

The suite we booked is charming. Feather comforters, kiva gas fireplace sitting area and nice amenities. Check in was efficient, no question unanswered and lodge is pet friendly. Piano in common area is a nice touch and food is wonderful.

Would highly recommend grab rails in tubs for all. Even non seniors could use a safety rail in shower tub combo.

Spotless bathroom. Not an easy job in an old lodge.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Lets start with, I've never stayed at a lodge.
Next. There is NO air conditioning in most of the rooms.... Not in the one we stayed in, and in the southwest where it can reach 90 in the summer, and humidity, a/c seems like a must
I hesitate to give it the average, because there were so many things I was not fond of.
Let's start with the good.
1. The staff (not the owner) were all very hard working. Ashley, in particular. The ladies cooked, then cleaned, then cooked again.
2. I liked the garden maze, and the charming signs at each "stop"
3. The pool was the perfect temperature all the time.
4. They do seem to be making some improvements (a work in progress)

Now my dislikes:
1. No air conditioning - we were sweating most of the week, while sleeping, while eating, while playing cards.
None in the all purpose areas either. (This was definitely a complaint by most of us)
2. Our room had several issues, broken tile in the bathroom, a shower head that needed to be de-limed (hard water build up) electrical outlets that were not holding plugs (sparking at times they connected) wifi that constantly went in and out.
3. The owner was quite grumpy most of the time (I hear she lost her husband last fall 2012) and has had quite the hard time maintaining everything on her own) but with our group booking the entire lodge for a week, you'd think she'd be a bit chipper.
4. The food was good for breakfast, dinner was meh $16 bucks a pop.
5. the surrounding "neighbors" were so run down, I was very uncomfortable leaving windows open at night (broken down cars in the yards, graffiti - and while this is not the lodges fault at nearly $200 a night, not exactly what you'd expect.
6. You must have a car to stay here, which we did, but there are 8 speed bumps the main road to town, dirt roads another direction and 18 miles an hour the third option.

To say I was disappointed when we arrived is an understatement. I chalked it up to the place being run by an individual, not a chain, and called it rustic.

It would not be my choice if I were ever to return to Taos, which I'll likely not do in the future.

Boy, what can I say, if you like a very old school way of traveling you might enjoy it?
We did have a nice week, but we were with 40+ people, so the company made it, not the place.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Spent 4th of July weekend at the San Geronimo. Everything was perfect. The breakfasts were delicious! A very welcoming place, exceptionally clean and very dog friendly. The entire staff was warm and friendly. I would definitely stay here again over any hotel in Taos!

Room Tip: Room 6 is cute, cozy and dog friendly. Very quiet place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We just got back from two nights at this B&B and my husband and I both loved it. Quiet and peaceful. The grounds were beautiful, people were friendly and helpful, food was GREAT, and the room comfortable. It was everything we hoped for.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayfield, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Yes the lodge was built in 1925, and for me that adds to the charm. It is clean, quiet, filled with art, has a prayer path, pool and more. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast is excellent. The beds were also comfortable. I loved the easy access to town combined with the quiet of the San Geronimo Lodge offering the best of Taos. This was also the 1st time I traveled with my Golden Retriever and was elated that he was welcome. The setting made it perfect as I did not have to worry about his safety during our morning walks.

Room Tip: Check the website to pick a room meeting your needs. Only a few are pet friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Geronimo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Geronimo Lodge

Address: 1101 Witt Road, Taos, NM 87571
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — San Geronimo Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your San Geronimo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Geronimo Hotel Taos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Geronimo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.