We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taos Treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada de Taos B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Posada de Taos B&B to your Saves list
La Posada de Taos B&B
309 Juanita Lane, Taos, NM 87571   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 26 Taos B&B and Inns
Wash-Balt
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Taos Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We took the Scenic High Rd from Santa Fe to Taos and enjoyed the small towns, especially Chimayo. Because of our Hot Air Balloon ride and departing flight we may miss BOTH of our breakfasts. Our room(Selecito) was VERY BIG and the Bath very nice.(InnKeeper said that it was once the InnKeepers quarters. It feels like an apartment with a big yard. This place must be pet friendly unless barking is an issue. My wife says that the entire B and B reminds her of a Tuscan farmhouse that she stayed in. The lCreaky wood floors , old sofas, etc The location is about 2 blocks thru empty parking lots up a hill to the Taos shops and galleries. Driving and parking is probably a better option but we walked.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaosBandBLover, General Manager at La Posada de Taos B&B, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We're almost blushing at this incredible review. Thanks so much to you both for your visit! It's true that many people feel the "vibe" of a small Italian or Spanish town in Taos. And believe us when we say that preserving this very special -- and very different -- look and feel is no small feat for Taos. We joke with our guests that you won't find the architectural elements of Taos at any Big Box Do-It-Yourself store in the country. And think how hard it is to preserve the narrow lanes and neighborhood feel of a place where hundreds of thousands of visitors pass through every year. Back here on our little hidden one-lane street, La Posada de Taos B&B specializes in history and quietude.

Giving our guests the kind of experience where they get to detach from the outside world in a historic Pueblo-style Adobe home is at the heart of everything we do. Of course, adding modern amenities like 600 thread-count sheets and culinary journeys keeps everyone slightly in touch with modern trends.

Before you left this morning we had already seen this review, so we asked about the "pet friendly" comment. Specifically, we asked if you had heard any dogs barking and you said "No." So we just wanted the reading public to understand that we ARE pet friendly and we don't have barking dogs on property. As of July 2013, our newest family member is now 5 months old -- a Standard Schnauzer who is not only super friendly with everyone, but very quiet. He's a great addition to La Posada and we're certain that everyone is going to love Grayson when he's all grown up in a year or so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    29
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
41
184
34
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed four nights in a separate house across from main building that was perfect for our needs(3 adults).Location is convenient. And, food was wonderful! I would recommend it to anyone. Very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

What a breath of fresh air to find La Posada de Taos after the very average accommodation experienced prior during our trip through the South West. The establishment is beautifully presented, with colourful and enchanting gardens, and great artefacts in the room to give one the feel of northern NM. The room was very comfortable, the bed firm, and sheets were soft and so sleep inducing. They are upgrading their a/c's which will improve conditions during the night. Brad and Michael are charming hosts, attentive to every detail, concerned with comfort and quality, and very engaging. Keep the dream alive guys, you're doing a great job. Looking forward to our return trip one day soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Comfortable, charming, great location! The breakfast was delicious and fellow travelers were a delight. Plan to recommend to friends and family. The perfect place to use as a "base" for day trips to Oho Caliente, Tesuque, and Santa Fe.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We loved being able to walk everywhere from La Posada's great location near Bent and LeDoux streets -- yet, inside the walls, it is a peaceful oasis. We slept soundly with the window and patio door of El Solecito wide open. Speaking of sleep, the bed linens are fabulous! Breakfast was great - and Brad evened packed us fruit and granola cups 'to go" when we, sadly, had to depart before breakfast the last day. There was always someone to help with suggestions...without being obtrusive. We'll definitely stay here again when we return to Taos.

Room Tip: El Solecito has a sitting area with fireplace, large bathroom with whirlpool tub, and a quiet outdoo...
See more room tips
Green Features: Brad and Michael are very committed to green practices.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our first trip to Taos and the first day we left our car parked and walked all over the plaza and main town areas. Brad gave us some great tips on close by hikes and was very informative about the local area, museums and events.

Room Tip: rooms are all very differently sized and since we were there 3 nights we picked el solecito, a larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

If you want to be a bit isolated but still close to the Plaza, this may be the place for you. The breakfasts are served to all guests at 830 in am and they were very good: interesting and healthy meals. It gave us an opportunity to meet and talk to our fellow quests. Just a bit of a warning - we stayed in La Casa which is a lovely room but the love seat that pulled out to a single bed was uncomfortable to the point of being painful. It should be replaced. Also, a minor point, we were short on towels and sheets and it was not easy to find anyone to help us.

Despite these points we would definitely stay there again, but perhaps not in La Casa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Posada de Taos B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Taos B&B

Address: 309 Juanita Lane, Taos, NM 87571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taos' First B&B is centrally located just 2 blocks west of Taos Plaza, an easy walk to dozens of restaurants, galleries, shops and live music venues. Our full multi-course breakfast is served each morning to all our guests with no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your La Posada de Taos B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada de Taos B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.