We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the rough -- an unsurpassed gem in Taos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda del Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hacienda del Sol
Save
You added Hacienda del Sol to your Saves list
109 Mabel Dodge Lane, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Book Here!
Ranked #3 of 25 Taos B&B and Inns
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Diamond in the rough -- an unsurpassed gem in Taos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Just the grounds alone would make this B&B a gem in Taos. Great hot tub, beautiful views, quiet surroundings -- but add to that spectacular rooms and you've got a gem of an Inn. The innkeepers are wonderful and obviously love their work, and the breakfast is exceptional. Rooms are very nicely decorated and extremely comfortable. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luellenh, Manager at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Hi Mark S

You are right in what you say, we do love our work and its lovely to hear that its showing!

The view is truly wonderful and I'm glad you were able to sit back, relax and take it all in. I'm also pleased to hear you enjoyed your room, they are all slightly different to each other and it sounds like you picked a good one!

Thanks again,
Mark & Erika
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    34
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
73
253
17
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
SW Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My wife and I began a two month US road trip on June 22, 2014. Our past trips, worldwide, have been enhanced by doing research on Trip Advisor so we decided to do a “pay back” by doing daily reviews. Our trip begins and ends in Naples, Florida. (Most hotel locations are based on distance we wished to travel each day)
Day Eight - June 27. 2014 – Taos, New Mexico.
I can't imagine a better place to stay in Taos. There are many options and I must thank TA for helping me choose this B and B. Every aspect of this resort (this is what I consider it) is way over the top! The decor throughout is upscale including the "little touches" that separate it from the B&B norm. Working fireplace that housekeeping refurbishes daily, robes, views of the courtyards and mountains, working Jacuzzi and steam showers. And the breakfast options were so good it was hard to choose which one to have. The choice was great. This was a great decision and I would recommend it to anyone who wants a special experience in a unique little NM town. A better place for honeymoons and anniversaries then families with children. A wedding was being set up in one of the courtyards the day we departed.

This was our anniversary so we splurged a little!

Room Tip: Talk to the owners about the different levels of rooms,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luellenh, Manager at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you for such a glowing review of our Inn!

We're delighted that you choose to spend your anniversary with us, on what sounds like a fantastic trip. It certainly sounds like your little splurge was worth it!

We're also glad to hear that the breakfasts that we offered you were tasty and that the variety was plentiful. Gerd and Mark trade off with breakfast duty and with Gerd's vast culinary experience, he's definitely brought Mark up to speed!

Thanks again for your kind words and should you ever find yourself in Taos again, please do look us up!
Erika & Mark
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This B&B was so amazing and the people were very nice and welcoming that it made you feel right at home. We stayed in Sala del Sol, which was connected to the main lodge reception area. This room was adorable and included local art and had a roomy bathroom. The sheets were also 600 thread count and very soft! We had a back door that opened out into the courtyard which had a beautiful view, cute reading nooks, and a nice hot tub. You signed up for time slots for the hot tub, so you were never in there with strangers of too crowded. They included nice bathrobes to wear, and the only hot tube drawback were the abundant mosquitoes. The kitchen was open 24/7 and had a few snacks and drinks that you could make. There was also a cute indoor seating area/ living room that was nice to hang out in, and they even lit a fire for a little bit at night. One of the many amazing things about Hacienda del Sol was also that they had menus from different local restaurants, which helped tremendously in finding the right place to eat at. The complimentary breakfast was handmade, made to order (3 different meal options) and was VERY good. They had the place decorated with local glassware, and other items that we had seen in the plaza shops earlier that day. I wish we would have stayed here longer, and we are definitely planning on coming back!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are AMAZING and have local art.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luellenh, Manager at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review and title!!

I'm glad the room was comfortable and it sounds like you were able to enjoy all we have to offer her at the Inn. We find that the sign up sheet is a great way for people to enjoy the hot tub together and soak at their leisure. With all the rain we've had this year, we have had a few more mosquitoes than we are used to, but the trade off is that Taos and the surrounding areas are looking fantastically green! We have been spraying to remove them and are providing more mosquito spray in the gardens, both of which seemed to have helped.

I'm glad we were able to help out with dinner planning and maximizing your short time here in Taos. Maybe on your next visit you'll really be able to relax and take in all that Taos has to offer.

Thanks again,
Mark, Erika, Luellen and Gerd
Hacienda del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We have stayed at the Hacienda del Sol many times throughout the past year and each time we have found our time spent here as pleasant, comfortable, and over all, a great experience. The rooms are updated, always clean and have every amenity needed. The food is the best! In addition, the grounds are well cared for and it is relaxing to spend some time reading/relaxing in the comfortable environment. Wonderful views of Taos mountains.

Room Tip: If you have enough people the cowboy suite (for three or four people) is great because of the early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luellenh, Manager at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Firstly, thank you for visiting us so many times, its a real complement to our Inn that you are happy to return to us so often.

Its also great to hear that our standards and consistent, as whether its your first or fifth visit, we want to impress and ensure you are getting the quality you deserve and expect.

Thanks again and hopefully we'll see you in the not too distant future.
Erika & Mark
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Having never been to the Taos area, we were pleasantly surprised by Hacienda Del Sol! The Cowboy room was very nice- loved the gas fireplace, the steam shower and the unbelievable view! Mark checked us in and gave us the tour. They pay particular attention to detail, keep the kitchen open with fruit, coffee, cookies. Breakfast was fantastic - they certainly know how to please! Absolutely would stay here again if ever in the area! You must sit out back and take in the view!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luellenh, Manager at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Firstly thank you for your review of the Hacienda and I am delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations. We have quite a bit of history with the connection to Mabel Dodge Luhan, so we love to share that with our guests.

The Cowboy does have a lovely view over the gardens and into the Pueblo land beyond and its nice to hear you sat back and enjoyed the view from the room as well as down in the gardens.

Hopefully we'll be able to look after you on your next visit to Taos.

Thanks again,
Mark & Erika
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We loved this place and the young couple who run it. Perfectly and peacefully located within a very short drive of everything to see and do in and around Taos. Lovely adobe style building and rooms set around a garden with views to mountains in the snow. Everything possible was done to make our stay absolutely as comfortable as possible, great choice of home-cooked breakfasts and suggestions about where to eat out. Wish we'd been able to stay longer - another time?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luellenh, Manager at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and Mark thoroughly enjoyed having a fellow Brit to talk to for a few days! Since you were here, we've swapped snow capped mountains for a lush, green mountain backdrop, just a lovely! If you ever find yourself down here in the Southwest, please do look us up, it would be our pleasure to host you again!
Mark, Erika, Luellen and Gerd
Hacienda del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Hill, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We spent a week at this wonderful B&B and have nothing but good things to say about our stay. Our room, the Adobe, was more than we expected....from the comfy king-sized bed to our own private patio. Erika and Mark were excellent hosts and very helpful in planning our daily outings. Breakfast was a real treat with three selections offered every day. The views, the rooms, the hosts, the ambience.....everything was top-notch. We would highly recommend the Hacienda del Sol to any fellow travelers!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luellenh, Manager at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
HI Linda,
Thank you for that lovely review. I'm glad that our recommendations worked out for you and that breakfast was a daily treat!
Thanks again and hopefully we'll see you again in the future.
Mark & Erika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Sol

Address: 109 Mabel Dodge Lane, Taos, NM 87571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Sol Hotel Taos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.