We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda del Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hacienda del Sol
Save
You added Hacienda del Sol to your Saves list
109 Mabel Dodge Lane, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Procrastinator's Special
Ranked #3 of 25 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We've stayed at the Hacienda del Sol 3 times now and it just gets better every time we visit. The hosts have made us feel comfortable and welcome each time and we've loved getting to know them over our stays. In the warmer months the wonderful Adirondack chairs scattered over the lawn provide the perfect perch to relax and enjoy the beautiful view of Taos Mountain with a glass of wine in hand. Our latest stay was just after Christmas and I can't quite get over how lovely Taos was at that time of year. The inn was decorated beautifully and was snug and cozy. We had a perfect time and can't wait for our next visit! Oh - and the sheets on the beds are the softest, most comfortable sheets on which I've ever had the pleasure of sleeping! You can even buy your own set on their website!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luellenh, Owner at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again and for your lovely review. Christmas time is always a wonderful time of year in Taos, and we love decorating the Inn for this time of year. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    35
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
74
260
17
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed in the Cowboy Suite for 3 nights. Very cozy main room. Clean, comfortable. Amazing breakfast, very friendly hosts. Restaurants within walking distance. Our kids did not miss TV!
Would come back again for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luellenh, Owner at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thanks for staying with us. We enjoy our families here. During Christmas week, everyone is enjoying the new fallen snow and outdoor activities. in the 25 years that this has been an inn, the only TV is in our common living room which is used often for sporting events, movies or game playing. Wesee that guests don't miss TV here in Taos and find it peaceful to have a selection of music and books in the room. We do offer free WIFI that seems to be more popular these days. Glad the kids had a good time! Come back and see us again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deltona, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed in the Mable Salon. It was spacious,clean and comfortable. I enjoyed a long bath while my husband and grown son ventured around the trails. We were only two minutes from the Taos Plaza and only a minute from the famous Taos Pueblo, where Indians still live without electricity and running water! We took a tour of the Pueblo and all enjoyed it. A must see.

We all got a great nights rest, and my son, 26, signed up for the outdoor hot tub at 11pm. He thoroughly enjoyed it!

Breakfast was fabulous and the staff was very friendly. We all felt that it was an exceptional pick.

BTW, breakfast hours have been extended. I know that they were serving until 9:30.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luellenh, Owner at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your lovey remarks and fun conversation. We have had a real snowy Christmas week and great atmosphere here in Taos. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitou Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The location, the owners, the breakfast, the rooms were all fantastic. Have stayed at other properties in Taos, however, this is the best. Back to breakfast...it really was quite good with a variety of foods that delighted us each day. The library is an additional delightfully quiet room for reading. You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luellenh, Owner at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
We so appreciate the lovely reviews from our guests and listen to all the comments our
guests make in order to continually improve the guest experience here. Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is an outstanding small inn. The original building is a historic Hacienda. The architecture and decor are traditional New Mexican style with tile floors, kiva fireplaces and beamed ceilings. Absolutely charming. We stayed for two nights, but wished we had had time to stay longer. It was the accommodation highlight of a two-week trip to the Southwest. Everything was superb, from the delicious breakfast in a large, open-plan kitchen/dining room, to the comfort of our spacious bedroom and bathroom (with jacuzzi tub) to the helpful advice, information and directions given by our hosts. The Hacienda is set in lovely gardens with mature trees and has a magnificent mountain view. There's a secluded outdoor hot tub. The setting and service are first class A romantic place run by friendly young people committed to satisfying their guests' every need.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luellenh, Owner at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Wonderful experience great views and great breakfast the only concern was that breakfast was served from 8-9 am,....when on holiday we thought that breakfast should be extended more than one hour.....suggestion: 7-10 am would be a perfect setting for a late morning. Otherwise a great location and wonderful owners that took excellent care of us.

Room Tip: Great hot tub and the breakfast was very tasty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luellenh, Owner at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Breakfast has been served from 7:30-9:00 for over 20 years here so as fairly new owners, we kept the same hours. Our managers serve a hot cooked to order fresh breakfast every morning unlike some bed and breakfasts that have a buffet self service. Since we are a small bed and breakfast, they also do all the clean-up and move on to other duties all morning so it is hard to extend the hours too late. We find our skiiers are in early for breakfast and summer guests are up and off to enjoy the sights of Taos by 9:00/9:30. If anyone would like a slightly later breakfast, we are always open to making an adjustment from time to time so don't hesitate to ask us. After 9:00, there is always fruit, cereal, and coffee, etc. for those who really want to sleep in and relax. We try to be as flexible as possible but also try to maintain a schedule and finish all the morning duties..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs CO
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Having stayed at the Hacienda del Sol a few times in the past three years, we booked a four-night get-a-way over Thanksgiving. The property is quiet and peaceful and the views are amazing! I was pleasantly surprised by the new bedding, which was both high quality and comfy. The breakfasts are good and I appreciate the willingness to accomodate special requests. Finally took the opportunity to dine at the nearby Love Apple this trip. It is not to be missed! We love that the Hacienda reminds us of some of the great B&Bs we have visited throughout Europe. Erica, Mark, Luellen, and Chef Gerd are not only gracious hosts, but they are truly good people who welcome you with open arms.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Sol

Address: 109 Mabel Dodge Lane, Taos, NM 87571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Sol Hotel Taos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.