We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Benavides Historic Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Benavides Historic Inn to your Saves list
Casa Benavides Historic Inn
137 Kit Carson Road, Taos, NM 87571   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF Your Stay!!
Ranked #15 of 26 Taos B&B and Inns
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The rooms were beautiful and cozy, very clean, and mirrored the town very well.The breakfast was okay, but the afternoon tea was fun. It was in a great location right down the street from old town/historic Taos.

Room Tip: It is a apartment like set up, really every room has its own thing to share, whether mountain view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    37
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
15
65
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newhall, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Located within walking distance of the plaz this is a large facility but doesn't seem big with rooms around courtyards or in separate buildings. Breakfast includes juice, fresh fruit, ttasty granola, hot dish to order, and muffins. Servers are friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We actually came back to Taos specially to stay at this hotel again. It is beautiful, well-appointed, GREAT breakfast and afternoon tea with freshly baked goodies, helpful staff, great location, lots of rooms to choose from, each one unique and beautiful. Could not ask for anything more. Perhaps our favorite hotel in all our travels.

Room Tip: Review each room on their website -- each is unique and beautiful -- many separate buildings, you ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights. As the title indicates the hotel is in the middle of town so it allows one to walk around to shops and galleries. The hotel itself is clean and decorated nicely. The problems I found were:
*The king size bed was old and well used. In other words it was a "role to the middle type of bed".
*There were lights out side the room. I have no problem with this. But there was no way to block the lights from shining into our room. There were blinds, but merely for privacy not blocking out lights. We resorted to getting a piece of cardboard and laying it against the door to prevent the lights from illuminating our room. I am not kidding, one could read by the amount of light shining into our room.
*The breakfast was ok if one liked greasy pastries. They did offer granola (which was good) and an egg based dish. To be fair I don't eat beef, the egg dish was offered with a beef chili sauce which might have helped it.
But the egg based dish, which they called a quiche, was bland and really rubbery when eaten with out the chili sauce.
As I said above, one is paying for location and not much more.

Room Tip: Get a 2 bed room and make sure there are no lights shinning into the room, via the door or windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

We only planned on staying here for one night, then moving on to Santa Fe. We loved our room & experience so much we stayed another night. So happy we did! The room was absolutely perfect! Great wood burning fireplace, Spanish tiled bathroom & High Desert decor. The breakfast was sensational! Best granola ever. We even bought a pound to go. Would highly recommend this B&B for anyone looking to really relax. We had dessert & wine in front of our fireplace. Didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

One of our principles of travel is that we prefer a location that offers us the ability to walk to/from in the evenings after we have had an "adult beverage' or two. Getting behind the wheel of a vehicle is not only irresponsible but unnecessary during the evening hours! Casa Benavides is located a long block from the main plaza and a bit further from a choice of centrally located restaurants. We truly enjoy a nice casual walk back to our lodging after dinner and this establishment fits the bill.

The staff (front desk & kitchen) is exceptional and you can see the pride they take in making Casa Benavides an enjoyable place to stay.

For future trips, we will never look at a different establishment for a place to stay as it fits our needs perfectly!

Room Tip: Take a look at the Casa Benavides website and look at each individual room since each is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We enjoyed everything about Casa Benevides. Our large, clean and comfortable room had high beamed ceilings creating a lovely ambiance. There’s no internet service in the guest rooms, but the becoming lobby with local artwork and resources is an enjoyable spot to hang out. Our room had a nice patio with comfortable seating to enjoy the sunny weather in Taos. Located only 2 blocks from the Plaza it’s in a prime location. Breakfast (especially the granola) and service were wonderful. We’ll stay here the next time we’re in Taos.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Benavides Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Benavides Historic Inn

Address: 137 Kit Carson Road, Taos, NM 87571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Benavides Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Benavides Historic Hotel Taos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Benavides Historic Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.