We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our room was not even close to good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Benavides Historic Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Benavides Historic Inn to your Saves list
Casa Benavides Historic Inn
137 Kit Carson Road, Taos, NM 87571   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF Your Stay!!
Ranked #15 of 26 Taos B&B and Inns
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Our room was not even close to good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at Casa Benavides about 25 years ago and absolutely loved it. I'm afraid nothing has been done to our room -- El Mirador -- no maintenance at all -- since then. It was positively the worst hotel/motel/b&b room I've had in years, and quite expensive as well! The whole room was a dingy beige -- beige walls, beige bed clothes, dirty brown couch (more later). The location is great, the newish lobby/sitting room/dining room are wonderful, the food is great, the people very nice and helpful. But that room is just ghastly! The couch cushions actually smelled -- a familiar smell of old old mildew and wet dog. Way past time for a new couch. The bed was comfortable, but the dinginess of the bed clothes was very unappealing -- old cotton blankets, beige cotton bedspread, nothing Southwestern about it at all -- nor was it anything like the photo on their website. I feel quite misled and abused. I won't stay there again -- I don't dare pick another room and have something like this happen again. Too bad -- great location and public space.

Room Tip: Don't stay in El Mirador. All rooms seem like they'd be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    37
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
15
65
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Colorado
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Owners Tom and Barbara are great people and try to make everyone comfortable. Rooms are well maintained, clean, and quiet. The best and biggest breakfasts I have had anywhere. Great afternoon tea if you are around. Walking distance to main square. Staff is very helpful. We look forward to many returns.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Awesome little b&b friendly staff great breakfast. Had a couple of issues in room heat was on when arrived and tv remote wasn't working but both were dealt with by the staff. Wifi only in lobby, parking a little away from room. Very quaint and lovely

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is a great place to stay. Making the reservations was easy and the staff was very helpful to get me the room I needed. The property overall is outstanding, it is very well maintained and you really know you're in Taos. The afternoon tea and desserts is a great idea and we loved it. The breakfast was excellent, it did get crowded though and we had to wait for about 15 minutes so if you get there late be ready for that. The food is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed just one night in June in the Chimayo room. The property itself is lovely. Everything I love about Southwest homes. From the outside to the lovely interiors with the tiles and artwork. I confess though that I was slightly disappointed by our room. I had booked the cheapest room though to try and save some pennies on our road trip, so maybe that is my expectations being too high! The room was accessible via a corridor from the outside veranda. It was small and dark. A view of the neighbours yard. At first the AC didn't work and there was no lightbulb in the closet. The bathroom was tiny with nowhere to put your things so our wash bags went on the floor. We didn't mind too much though as we were only staying one night and it was all about the location.


We were invited to have afternoon tea but we went to explore instead. The plaza is a short walk of about 5 minutes. Many bars and restaurants to choose from and there was live music when we were there- I think this is every Thursday in summer. Worth going to with a great atmosphere.

The breakfast was immense! The dining room where it is held is gorgeous and I want a kitchen like theirs! The ladies serving the breakfast were nice too. We were offered so many things. Home made sticky granola, yoghurt, peaches, muffins, juice, then a cooked breakfast (!). We had the Mexican offering of a large, no huge, slab of a kind of omelette with green chile. Tasty but way too much for breakfast! I could have eaten it for dinner!

Would recommend based on location but not our room. From the website there are many nicer rooms on offer.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel was comfortable, quaint and in a great location. Breakfast was good but it was the 2 lovely ladies that made homemade muffins that made the experience at breakfast so marvellous. Service and staff were great, it was quiet, the bed was comfy and the ambling property was wonderful.

I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I can confidently give the inn the title of the very best in Taos, because it was the best accommodations I have ever experienced in all of my travels ....for multiple reasons. To begin with, one feels as if they were living in an exquisite New Mexican estate, surrounded by antiques and stunning paintings. However, the charming décor is exceeded by the spectacular service by the owners and staff who treated us all with such concern and care, we felt as if we were each personal guests.. It wasn't an easy thing to do as we numbered 24 in our art workshop. The location couldn't have been better..easy walking distance to the plaza, art galleries, and restaurants. We stayed a week and we all wish it could have been longer. I highly recommend the inn for groups and of course individual stays. You won't find a better place or better hosts..

Room Tip: One of the charms of the inn is the individualized décor of each of their rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Benavides Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Benavides Historic Inn

Address: 137 Kit Carson Road, Taos, NM 87571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Benavides Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Benavides Historic Hotel Taos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Benavides Historic Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.