We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wild Earth Llama Adventures” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Earth Llama Adventures

Wild Earth Llama Adventures
Sangre de Cristo Mountains, Santa Fe & Taos, Taos, NM 87571
1-800-758-5262
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 activities in Taos
Type: Tours
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Brighton, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wild Earth Llama Adventures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Last week I went on a girls' trip to Santa Fe. One day we spent the day with Stuart and Wild Earth Llama Adventures--the Lunch with a llama trip. I cannot begin to tell you what an awesome adventure that was. There were three of us and we each had our own llama that somehow matched each of our personalities. My llama-Diego was such a sweetheart but so were Raja and K2. We chose the trip down the switchbacks to the river. Stuart was so patient and careful with us as we traveled down the canyon and then back up. He also provided an awesome lunch. Stuart has so much knowledge of the environment as well as the history of the area. AND he is so nice and tons of fun himself. I would love to do this again and I would recommend it to anyone--no matter your age (we are all 3 in our early 60s). Definitely the trip of a lifetime.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    2
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

A day we will not forget was spent with Stuart, and Raja (sweetest llama ever) and two other couples, descending and then ascending (!!!) the Rio Grande Gorge. The views through the gorge are outstanding, and Stuart's knowledge of the environment and history of the area was excellent ... and greatly appreciated. Our llamas carried the gear down to the bank of the river where we enjoyed a relaxing, and very good lunch set out by Stuart. I am not a fitness buff, but wouldn't have missed this experience for the world! Stuart is a professional, and it shows in the care he takes - one of the group was bothered by altitude sickness part way through the day. Stuart carefully monitored her, and did not rush the climb but gave as much time as needed. In the Taos area, this is a MUST!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Sweet llamas and the Rio Grande River Gorge!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

What a great time my sister-in-law and I had with our llamas Diego and K2 and our wonderful guide Stuart! We had the choice of several hikes and we chose the one along the rim of the Rio Grande River Gorge. Fabulous views and an easy hike (I'm 64!) and the llamas carried our lunch. I can't recommend this highly enough. This is the second time my sister-in-law has been on this trip and I would go again in a minute.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What an amazing day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is the second time I have taken a llama trek with Stuart. The first time was 12 years ago. Both adventures were out of this world amazing. Beautiful scenery, wonderful llamas, a very knowledgeable guide and fresh, great tasting food. You can't beat that. This is an adventure I would definitely rec.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Rio Grande grande!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Today my family went on our third trek with Stuart into the Rio Grande Gorge in the brand new national monument. We saw, petroglyphs, geologic wonders, a wild river, and our intrepid llamas, K2, Rio and Diego. Llama trekking offers the opportunity to be free of a daypack and just breathe in the wonders of nature. Stuart knows his landscapes, history, anthropology and animal husbandry backwards and forwards. A great trip for kids, and for anyone who has ever been a kid. Yeah, I realize that means everyone. Everyone who loves nature and beauty. My kids enjoyed it as much at 12 and 14 as they did at 6 and 8. It's epic! We will do it again and again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Earth Llama Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Wild Earth Llama Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Earth Llama Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wild Earth Llama Adventures to your Saves list