We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in Taos!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adobe Wall Motel

Adobe Wall Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Taos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Adobe Wall Motel
Save
You added Adobe Wall Motel to your Saves list
227 Kit Carson Road, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great place to stay in Taos!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

We stayed 3 nights and loved the quiet and convenient location. The room was clean and had a unique decor which was part of its charm. The best part is the beautful courtyard with the giant cottonwood trees where you can sit and relax. A great find that I would recommend to anyone who is looking for a motel that is not of the sterile chain variety.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MO Ozarks
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

We stayed for two nights. The room was spartan, utilitarian, but comfortable.
We had a larger room, a king bed and a very nice hot shower. No phone, but a decent TV. The great advantage in staying at this motel is the 3-4 block walking distance to the plaza. You can walk up the hill, have a few drinks and dinner and walk back with no problem. It's affordable and quite.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearlake, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

If you don't care about spending much time in the room except to sleep and shower, the Adobe Wall may be the place for you. The location is good, and the price is right for the area, but this is definitely a case of getting what you pay for. The room was very large, and reasonably clean but don't look too closely at your surroundings. Unlike some of the other updated motor court properties we stayed at on our trip, the "cuteness" factor was definitely missing here. Even the proprietor seemed surprised that we would want to stay a second night! It's really too bad, because this is a place that has the potential to be really charming with some updating.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

Sixty years ago this property was quite nice. But only the most minimalist and regulatory maintenance and updates have been performed in the years since then, and the overall impression now is that this place is a bit of a dump. The location is excellent, only 1/4 mile from the plaza with only moderate traffic going by. The rooms are painted in NM style, and some rooms have operating kiva-style fireplaces. The furniture is mostly original from 60 years ago and very worn. There is no renovation to be seen, and wear and tear has been amateurishly repaired with "patches." There is no A/C, but there are ceiling fans. Heating is from an old gas space heating system whose safety and reliability is doubtful, but there is a CO2 alarm sensor in each room. Some bulbs in lamps were burnt out.

This place might do for a single over-night Taos visit, but longer stays here are problematical.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

Several other reviewers have commented on the curtness of the Adobe Wall Inn's proprietor, Donna. I condemn this: what sort of bitter nebbish would let something so inconsequential ruin her trip when there's a fireplace waiting in her room, and Duraflames to burn in it? What slumpshoulder lump of oatmeal could let Donna get her down when Taos is warm and sunny outside, and the Plaza, heaving with art to ridicule and people to gawk and lumpen stuffed bears to pretend are alive and ravenous for chocolate, just a five-minute walk away? What unfortunate gunch would even remember who Donna WAS when she's in her room at the Adobe Wall, sprawled on the bed, transfixed by the lubricious tableau of her man in the Duraflame glow, wearing them jeans, his broad wrists and hands and teeth and oh god lips all over a Salted Nut Roll, beneath the wonky silhouette of Taos Pueblo painted on the wall in a lurid orange? Certainly not me!

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

Enjoyed our stay here thoroughly. Hotel has a very distinctive 'southwest'' flair to it and we loved our proximity to the Plaza. We will come back!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern new mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

Seasoned travelers to this area love this place...we have stayed here several times over many years and like the rural charm of this classic old adobe structure...nothing fancy, just a reminder of what the REAL Taos used to be. Located within easy walking distance from the plaza. If you're looking for "fancy", go elsewhere....if you're looking for oldtime ambiance, this is very appealing. Very good value.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adobe Wall Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adobe Wall Motel

Address: 227 Kit Carson Road, Taos, NM 87571
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Adobe Wall Hotel Taos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adobe Wall Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.