We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home (southwest style)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burch Street Casitas

Save Saved
You added Burch Street Casitas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Burch Street Casitas
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   310 Burch Street, Taos, NM 87571   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
7th Night is Free!
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty lodging in Taos
Denver, Colorado
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Home away from Home (southwest style)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

What a wonderful experience in Taos. The Burch Street Casitas were a wonderful home away from home. My wife and I are teachers in Denver and we need a quite getaway that is not the same old Colorado. This was our first trip to Taos and we could not have been more pleased with our casita. It had everything that we would need to stay 4-5 days and really enjoy Taos the way we choose.

The casita has all the comforts of home, we could easily pack our suitcases and throw some food from our fridge into a cooler and be ready for a relaxing 4 days. We are already planning when we can go back down to get away for a long weekend since our first brief stay was so perfect.

I communicated with Jim through email to check availability and called once I wanted to secure my room. He could not have been more accommodating and helpful as we planned our time in Taos. The casitas are hidden in a nice quite neighborhood (a local delivery driver could not even find our casita). Jim graciously gave us some good directions to find them when coming into town. They are not really hard to find when you know what you are looking for (just a few blocks from the plaza on Kit Carson)

Upon arrival we were greeted by Nancy who was kind and informative, she gave us some great tips on coffee and food in town. Upon walking into our casita (A) my wife was instantly in ‘Love” with the place and felt relaxed and at home. I too was pleased with the upkeep and cleanliness of the casita and the overall attention to detail for the guests. This is the perfect spot for a couple to get away and relax. It definitely had a romantic feel for us with the tasteful southwest décor and quaint adobe fireplace. The planning in the design of the casitas definitely focused on privacy and comfort. The bed was firm yet comfy & the back patio was great place to sit in the morning and evening times.

The bonus was that they are pet friendly and our little dog was able to tag along on the trip. The grounds are well maintained and fenced so she could run around and play as long as we kept a

You could not find a more perfect place to rest and relax in Taos. I saw a couple of negative reviews that are a bit old and would not invest any time in their reviews of the place. Let Jim know you heard about the place from me ‘Corey’.

Room Tip: I have only stayed in Casita A and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casitaproperty, Owner at Burch Street Casitas, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write and thank you so for your business.
We are so gld you enjoyed it here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    9
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
65
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

What a sweet place these casitas were! Given that this was our first trip to Taos and we had no idea what a casitas was (I don't think we have such a thing in California) , it was a both a learning experience and a joy to be a part of. We first of all learned what one is and, more importantly, about how comfortable and cozy one can be! Thank you for creating this lovely and convenient spot.
Barbara & Bob
Berkeley and Carmel Valley, California

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casitaproperty, Owner at Burch Street Casitas, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you very much!
Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Our favorite place to stay in Taos, New Mexico, is the Burch Street Casitas. There are 4 casitas nestled in the back of the property under large trees. The area is shaded and quiet. The Casitas are very comfortable, well designed, and self contained, with full kitchens, laundries and nice baths. Radiant heating keeps the units very comfortable, especially on your feet. Each unit has its own private seating area outside. The casitas are conveniently located within easy walking distance of the Taos plaza, shopping and restaurants. The owners are extremely pleasant, helpful and conscientious, which certainly adds to an already wonderful experience. Bill and Margie

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casitaproperty, Owner at Burch Street Casitas, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share you experience with everybody!
And thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We will be coming back every year for Spring Break. We have to kids 6 and 2 and it was the perfect place to stay. We were able to save money by cooking (they have all the pots, pans, and utensils you could need), do laundry (they even provide detergent), wireless internet, cable, DVDs, and everything else you could need. The location is perfect (walking distance from the plaza). Casita B is so cute and comfy. The owners Jim and Nancy are very kind and make sure you have everything you need. We skiied, tubed, did things in town. We had a great time and are so sad to leave. We will be coming back every year!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casitaproperty, Owner at Burch Street Casitas, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for such a nice review and for leaving the Casita so nice.
look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

This was my second trip to the casitas and was as impressed this trip as before. The owners go out of their way to assist in any manner and the location is great for wals to the Plaza and local restaurants. Casitas are immaculate and furnishings are excellent. short 20 minutes to Taos ski valley. Heated floor tiles are very comfortable.

M. Gilbert

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casitaproperty, Owner at Burch Street Casitas, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for your business and kind words. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I stay here every trip I make to Taos and have never had less than an excellent stay. That said, they did improve the Casitas with upgraded wifi, new paint and a new bed and futon mattress. Other little updates too numerous to mention made this trip like starting over in a brand new place that still felt like home. Nothing like a nice fire in the evening to cap another fun day in Taos. Given the town's new parking rules, the short walk to the square is even more appreciated.

Book yourself a Casita and come home to Taos rather than just be another tourista.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casitaproperty, Owner at Burch Street Casitas, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for your continued support and thank you for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I like reading reviews for places I've stayed. It's always great to read the favorable and the unfavorable. Each one of them is a reflection of the person writing them. The favorable are really happy to have found a place that they look forward to returning. The unfavorable seem to seek problems because that's the way they live their lives. The best part is that they will never have to come back and they will continue their journey grumbling. It's always great to read the one's for the Burch Street Casitas.

For the past several years I've stayed for more than week at time. It is the cleanest, safest, quietest, and most comfortable place I've stayed in Taos or Santa Fe. It is close to everything that I care to do in town.

Jim and Nancy are wonderful hosts and will do whatever it takes to make everyone’s visit near perfect. If you've never stayed at their casitas give it a try when your in the neighborhood but be sure to call far enough ahead to make your reservation.

Room Tip: Casita D is perfect for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casitaproperty, Owner at Burch Street Casitas, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and continued business!
We really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Burch Street Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burch Street Casitas

Address: 310 Burch Street, Taos, NM 87571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty lodging in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Burch Street Casitas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burch Street Casitas is a beautiful five star destination. You will find Authentic Southwestern style with the modern conveniences that you have come to expect, in all of our casitas. Centrally located in the heart of Taos, we are barely a mile away from Carson Nation Forest, close to downtown if you are looking for art classes and a short walk away from the Historic Plaza. Taos is also a hot spot of art, museums and southwestern cuisine, which are just a short distance away. We are also happy to help you plan outdoor adventures like rock climbing, skiing, rafting, and hot air ballooning or relax with a trip to the spa or a round of golf. Many people have not considered a casita when looking for a place to stay or a vacation rental in Taos; however, it is the perfect alternative to any hotel, Inn, or bed and breakfast. Our casitas will offer you privacy, in a rejuvenating and mentally stimulating atmosphere. Enjoy the king size bed in every casita along with a wood burning fireplace and beautiful southwestern art, which are the makings of the perfect romantic get a way. You will not be disappointed when you choose Burch Street Casitas for your Vacation Destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Burch Street Casitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burch Street Casitas Hotel Taos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burch Street Casitas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.