We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner with the family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antonio's A Taste of Mexico - CLOSED

Antonio's A Taste of Mexico
122 Dona Luz, Taos, NM 87571-6085
575 751 4800
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: New Mexican/ Mexican
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great dinner with the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We just had dinner at Antonio's, one word Execellent. The bartender makes a great mango/stroberry margarita that is absolutely a must have. We had Theresa as our server, she is the best and a native of Taos. Suggest asking for Theresa, she is great with the menu and very cordial. I had the lamb cooked inside banana leaves, truly wonderful. The boys had pork tacos and chicken enchiladas, my wife had shredded beef tacos that was all really good. I highly recommend the guacamole which is made table side, very tasty and delicious. Great evening and thanks to Theresa, keep the beautiful smile coming! You made our evening. :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    100
    25
    21
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had read the reviews on Tripadvisor and were anxious to try this one out. We used the hotel shuttle to drop us off and the driver said that he had heard mixed reviews, encouraged us to let him know how it was on the way back. Although there were tons of open tables, we were asked if we had a reservation, then had to wait a few minutes to be seated. The place never really filled up while we were there. We ordered the table side guacamole for an appetizer which was brought to our table already prepared? Since it was over $9, we were expecting something special- just plain guac. While waiting for our entrees, we finished our drinks and expected to be asked about refills. We didn't even have any water. Our entrees arrived, we asked for refills and the person who delivered said our waiter would be right by. We continued to wait having to let our food sit. Finally, water was delivered and some time later refills of our drinks.Our entrees (Enfrijoladas and sopapilas rellena) were not overly warm by the time we were able to start. The enfijoladas lacked much cheese although they were cheese enchiladas. Most disappointing was when my husband returned from the restroom to relate how there was no soap, only hand sanitizer available. Just expected more....

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
1 review
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Went to Antonio's on the recommendation of the desk clerk at La Fonda and so glad we did. Lovely space, charming staff, and one of the best meals I have had in the past year or so. I was all set to have the duck enchiladas with mole, but decided to have the seafood paella lunch special, along with fresh guacamole prepared at the table. Both were outstanding. The guacamole was very tasty, and there was a lot of it. The seafood in the paella was fresh, high quality, and plentiful, the chorizo was equally high quality, and the whole was savory and delicious. Chef Antonio himself came by to inquire whether we were enjoying our meal. I highly recommend trying Antonio's--you'll get great food, a lovely staff, and nice ambiance.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Awesome food, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I visited Antonio's last night. They were extremely busy, but we had called ahead and the lady answering the phone was very polite and encouraged us to make a reservation because of the rush. We were immediately seated. We waited a while before our drink order was taken, and we were disappointed that the famous tableside guacamole would not be made tableside because it was so busy. But we didn't mind once it was delivered because it was THE best we've ever had! The salsa was also good, but was way too hot for my weenie Arkansan taste buds. Our waiter was very polite and worked as quickly as he could. We waited quite a while for our food, but again, we didn't care for long because our food was well worth the wait! My husband had the signature Chile Rellenos en Nogados which was amazing and unlike anything we'd ever eaten. I had the seafood enchiladas which surprisingly had a lobster tail and king crab leg served in shell on top of the crab and cheese stuffed enchiladas! Fantastic dish, and each element was cooked perfectly. It was such a great value as both entrees were about $15 but of very high quality. We ordered the tres leches cake with chocolate pinion coffees. The cake was great, served with strawberry and mango. We highly recommend it! Everything is priced reasonably, so it won't break the bank to splurge on dessert. Just come hungry because you won't want to miss a bite of your entree either!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Our Favorite Restaurant in Taos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We ate another great meal at Antonio's yesterday! We waited at the bar for dinnertime and visited with everyone who works there, including Antonio and Sarah, the owners. It's such a friendly place. We were seated by the fireplace, a warm and cozy room. We ordered two of our favorite appetizers, ceviche and guacamole which is made in front of you at your table! This is the best ceviche and guacamole we have ever eaten! Then we ordered two of our favorite entrees, rellano en nogada and shrimp tacos. Excellent meal! This is our grown kids and 8 grandkids favorite restaurant in Taos, too! Antonio's is very family friendly and/or also romantic!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antonio's A Taste of Mexico also viewed

 
Ranchos De Taos, Taos
Taos, Taos County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antonio's A Taste of Mexico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.