We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got married here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taos Art Museum at Fechin House

Taos Art Museum at Fechin House
227 Paseo del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571
575-758-2690
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 36 Attractions in Taos
Type: Educational Sites, Historic Sites, Art Museums, Shops, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Taos's newest museum, opened in 1994, has a collection of works by early members of the Taos Society of Artists never seen before by the public.
Chimayo, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Got married here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

My fiance and I live in New Mexico and had been before to Nicholai Fechin's house, which is the home of the Taos Art Museum. We found that we could have our wedding there in the beautiful second-floor sunroom. It was a mostly cloudy/snowy day, but the sun came out for our ceremony! The art is wonderful: a changing gallery of noted Taos artists, men and women, as well as paintings by Fechin himself. He also designed and built the house, had local woodworkers execute his vision, and made wonderful carved furniture himself. The house is as much a part of the experience as the art on the walls. And, if you're planning an event, the staff is very welcoming; a delight to work with. Also, lots of free parking!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    32
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

on a chilly December afternoon near Christmas, we wondered along the streets to the Fechin Museum and had the place literally to ourselves. If you like art, his work is incredible.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“art and artist home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

The Fechin house is the home of Nicolai Fechin, a Russian born artist who settled in Taos. The beautifully preserved house holds his and other artist's work.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The house is worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

My husband and I very much enjoyed the art exhibit, but the real show is the house. Nicholas Fechin built this house. Take the time to read and learn about its history and what it took to build the house at the time it was built. And don't miss the studio out back.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
“Must See for Fechin House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

I visited here on Sunday morning, July 25, 2010. The full name of the museum is actually Taos Art Museum and Fechin House.

They have a really nice art collection that I quite enjoyed. On the basis of the art collection, I’d say this is pretty close to being a “must see” and I do recommend it. But wait. There’s more. This art collection is set in the historic Fechin House, built by Nicholai Fechin between 1927 and 1933. The house itself is a work of art with all the carved details in moldings, doors and furniture that Fechin did. I think that the house along with the art collection vaults this onto the Taos “Must See” list. My second favorite museum in Taos of the seven I visited.

(This is one of 5 museums that is part of the Museum Association of Taos. It cost’s $40 to see each of them separately, but available at each museum is a $25 pass that covers them all. With this pass you have 1 year to make a single visit to each museum.)

Keith

Visited July 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taos Art Museum at Fechin House also viewed

 

Been to Taos Art Museum at Fechin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taos Art Museum at Fechin House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.