We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Gallina

Save Saved
You added Casa Gallina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Gallina
613 Callejon Road, Taos, NM 87571   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Taos B&B and Inns
Orange County
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed at Casa Gallina for our anniversary. What a perfect choice. Richard is a wonderful host. We were greeted with a bottle of wine and antipasti on our arrival. The casita was so comfortable and decorated with New Mexico charm. The kitchenette was nicely supplied with basic items and of course the girls provide fresh eggs daily. There is a wonderful market in town, Cid's, to pick up whatever you might want. At first we were unsure of the location because it is somewhat on the edge of town, but quickly realized the quiet was wonderful. It is only a few minutes drive into the center of things. Richard gave excellent recommendations for dining, shopping and touring. I would have liked maid service to make up the bed, but fluffing the comforter just took a minute or two. If we can return to Taos someday we will definitely be staying at Casa Gallina. Thank you Richard!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    271
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
137
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque NM
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This place cannot be any better! Richard is an outstanding host, warm and welcoming just like his beautiful property. I have stayed at hotels and Inns all over the world, and this is one of the best experiences I have ever had. This is place is a true New Mexican classic, and I cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: We rented the casita for a girlfriends getaway - very spacious, full kitchen, beautiful and comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Casa Gallina really is as lovely and special a place as all the other reviewers have said it is, and Richard is a really wonderful host. Our casita was absolutely charming, and comfortable and beautifully appointed, and it felt like "home" from just about the first minute we arrived. From the lovely bottle of wine and antipasti waiting for us when we arrived, to Richard's restaurant recommendations (all of which were great), to the homemade cupcakes awaiting us late one afternoon, it felt more like we were guests in a friend's home than that we were paying customers. I kidded Richard that he has a "cult following," and now I know why, and count me among them. We loved Taos as much as we loved Casa Gallina, and I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: My guess is that there isn't a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Casa Gallina is the most fantastic place I have stayed at in Taos. We rented the three bedroom casita and it was wonderful. The beds were cozy and comfortable and the courtyard was stunning!
Richard is an excellent host and entertaining as well. The chickens are a hoot, the highlight of our day was feeding them! It's a little off the beaten path but an easy drive into town and area attractions. You can feel the care and love Richard puts into the inn. The only thing I was disappointed in was that breakfast was not included, since it is listed as a B and B. But Richard does bring you fresh eggs everyday, you just have to drag yourself out of that cozy bed and cook them!!

Room Tip: The three bedroom casita, it's not that much more and the courtyard makes it worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Casa Gallina was the last stop on our trip through New Mexico and it was the perfect ending to our already amazing trip. The Barred Rock Adobe casita was just the right size for our family of four. The vibrant colors, textures and aromas immediately made us feel welcome and at home. We all found Casa Gallina to be magical and enchanting but our children, ages 7 and 10, had endless fun on the property. The beautiful gardens, the little stream and especially the chickens were so wonderful, the kids played outside at every opportunity -- we could have never ventured further and they would have been happy. They looked forward to waking up in the morning to see the chickens and help collect eggs. I think what is so special about Casa Gallina is that Richard has thought through every detail and possible need of his guests, that you start to feel as if you are really "home." I can't imagine what our experience of Taos would have been had we not stayed at Casa Gallina. We hope to return someday for another visit. Thanks To Richard, Shawn and Nate for everything.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed in the Bantam Roost for two nights during our recent trip to Taos. Richard was a gracious host, welcomed us "home", and helped us to find wonderful restaurants in Taos such as Love Apple and Orlando's. He referred us to Cid's for our breakfast supplies, and we were right at home there as well. Feeding the "girls" in the morning was a real treat. They all clucked peacefully and helped us relax. Richard provided some treats to welcome us, made sure we were well supplied with fresh and delicious eggs, but otherwise was not in the way at all. We built a fire both nights to help keep the casita warm, and turned on the heater to take the edge off the cool temperatures. The stairs to the bedroom are somewhat steep, so it may not be for everyone, but we were fine with it. The décor is beautiful, with many whimsical touches that emphasized the "gallina" theme. There is a deck with a hammock, and a gazebo with a hammock on ground level.
It is located a few miles outside town, so you will need to drive to restaurants or tourist sites. It's not easy to find the first few times, as the "Callejon" street sign is more visible if you approach from the east than from the west.
We've stayed in many hotels and B&Bs in many locations, but this is undoubtedly one of our favorite places. It's just a shame that we only planned two nights at this special place. Now we know, and will plan better next time!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We have stayed at Casa Gallina once before and just had to return to enjoy the peace and quiet of this place. Richard is the best host we have ever experienced. He provides snacks, wine, fresh eggs, advice on where to eat and shop, maps of the city and most of all he reflects the fine friendly sprit that comes with being in TAOS. He allowed us to pick fresh veggies from his garden and allowed us to visit his chickens/girls as much as we wanted. Next year, we will upgrade to the 2 bedroom just to have a little extra room. The decor and the cleanliness of this place is just what we needed. We were given a great tour of his newly opened studio and heard about the success of the tango dances that are being hosted there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Gallina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Gallina

Address: 613 Callejon Road, Taos, NM 87571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of town in a quiet, pastoral setting, Casa Gallina's three gorgeous adobe casitas offer an oasis of home for visitors exploring the Taos area. Spacious, charming and just a five minute drive to historic Taos Plaza, each casita is decorated and appointed with furniture, art, antiques, and textiles from New Mexico, Old Mexico and the world over. Casa Gallina feels truly like your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa Gallina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Gallina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.