We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Campground!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taos Monte Bello RV Park

Taos Monte Bello RV Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taos Monte Bello RV Park
Save
You added Taos Monte Bello RV Park to your Saves list
Taos, NM   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Taos
Lakewood, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Campground!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This gem of an RV park was clean, well organized, and picturesque. The owners, John and Concha, were friendly, cheerful, and went out of their way to ensure our stay was pleasant and uncomplicated. The restrooms were spotless, with ample room in the showers. There are only two restrooms in the main office complex, which might be a problem on busy days, but for our 2 nights, we didn't have to negotiate any other campers. The campsites are in a gated area. There were no problems with access codes, the Wi Fi was excellent, and we were parked in the outermost site (#6), which had the best views of the valley. Truly, the best campground we have stayed at in all our travels. We cannot wait to go back to Taos and stay at the Monte Bello!!!

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penn Run, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

The owner was just great. Clean bathrooms and showers. No amenities as far as pools but not needed as far as we are concerned. Large sites, good hook ups and trails that you.can hike. Reserve early as it is a small campground but nice and centrally located to many interesting places.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Kansas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

We saw previous reviews and wondered if it could be that good. Yes!

My wife and I are long-time campers and normally gravitate toward national parks or state facilities. However, we often use commercial campgrounds for in-transit or splurges. During the second week of September we decided to splurge for a few days. Our first contact says a lot about the overall way this RV park is managed. When we initially called, the lady said "If we cannot accommodate you the way you want, we will find a campground in the Taos area that will."

On arrival, we were briefed on everything we needed to know including gate codes, door codes, WiFi code, etc. One of the employees walked me out to our site and explained the best way to approach and told me the WiFi antenna was across the road and connection should be good. It was very good.

The park is compact but spacing between the slots is very reasonable. Every-other, or in some cases, every slot has landscaping features that provide good separation and privacy. There are no trees above about 8'-10' tall but the high mesa-top location provides good breezes. One initial concern was the location close to highway 64 but the road is lightly traveled and road noise after 9:00-10:00 is minimal (we travel in a pop-up).

The restroom/shower facilities are absolutely first-class. We have stayed in some fairly high-end bed and breakfasts that don't measure up to this campground. Ceramic tile floors and wall coverings with southwestern appointments make the bath facilities very attractive. The shower stalls are nearly luxurious with dual-control shower valves, adjustable-height shower heads and fold down shower seats.

Not only would we recommend this campground, but we are looking forward to using it again on our next trip from Kansas.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Very nice park, Small but the essence of NM and Taos. Clean restroom, Nicely spaced sites. Very accommodating owners. Close to the outskirts of Taos, one could bike to town. Don't miss Orlando's restaurant on the way. Now remember what NM and the southwest is like. This is not Sherwood forest. You have a spot on the high plains where the stars sparkle at night. A wonderful hiking path surely suitable for a morning jog. We will stay again. Oh...and the WiFi works! We stayed mid September....very enjoyable time. Rich and Donna, Colorado Springs

Room Tip: All sites are good...but being close to the pavilion is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

We booked via the internet based upon the good reviews. The owners run a very effiicent, friendly and spotlessly clean operation. We were warmly greeted on arrival and given all sorts of useful information about the surrounding area and given all the information we needed about the site (wi-fi and gate codes etc) Our spot was perfect, at the end of the first line(no 6), with uninterrupted views of the mountains, sunrises and sunsets were amazing and with some landscaping between pitches, you're not on top of your neighbour and privacy isn't a problem. Facilties are first rate, shower and restrooms are kept immaculate and with laundry facilites too ($1 a load) we caught up with much needed laundry. Prices in the store were also reasonable. They clearly care about their business and their customers and we would definitely return again.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We found this place on-line and decided to try it out based on what other reviewers said. We will definitely return when in the area. The owners and camp host were wonderfully friendly and helpful. The facilities and grounds are very clean and carefully maintained. The RV spots are much roomier than most commercial parks, and all are pull-through. There is a nice ramada for relaxing or BBQ. Be aware that this park is on the plateau, not out in the woods, which is what some campers are looking for. But we loved the long views of the sage brush plains and mountains in the background. Very convenient to Taos and for exploring the area.
We stayed here in our travel trailer.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

One of the nicest parks we have stayed in and we have traveled for thirty years. Very reasonable prices $36.00 a night no charge for pets and very friendly owners John and Concha bent over backwards for us. Very clean facilities and extremely clean and neat park. Really roomy sites some 50 amp some 30. Beautiful view of the mountains and just 6 miles from downtown restaurants and shops.We booked for three nights and like it so much we plan on staying four more. Very clean facilities and grounds. We will return !
Greg and Rita

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taos Monte Bello RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taos Monte Bello RV Park

Address: Taos, NM
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Taos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taos Monte Bello RV Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.