We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touch of Europe in the Valley” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Casa Continental

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Old Casa Continental
Paseo del sur, Taos, NM
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 108 Restaurants in Taos
Cuisines: Continental
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Touch of Europe in the Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We fined there early in the evening before a concert. As we entered we were attended to immediately and the night was cold and blustery. The table for two was near a kiva style fireplace. Nice wine selection. Great chef and fresh flowers on the table. The server let us know they had only recently obtained license to serve wine with a meal. We were drop ins and as quaint as their small venue was wondered how they had managed in the interim. We were pleasantly surprised by our meals and will definitely return. Don't let the adobe remodel of an existing building deter you. Great place

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    5
    0
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taos, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Charming Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We ate in the nice front dining room with a secluded round booth and fireplace. Food was excellent and service was good. My husband really enjoyed the beef stroganoff and I thoroughly enjoyed the cod in a sundried tomato and caper sauce. Rolls were hot and very good. French onion soup was wonderful. The only minus I can see is the limited menu options. They should state on their web page that they also have daily specials. We almost didn't go there because I had looked up the menu online and didn't really see anything I wanted in the entree section. But we decided to try it anyway and were very pleasantly surprised. We will be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“You should try this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is a little south of town (in the former Damon's). The decor is lovely and gentle music was playing. The service was excellent. The food was spectacular. The escargot were yummy. The rolls were hot. All of us really enjoyed our entrees- the veal Oscar was delicious. The cod in lemon caper sauce was wonderful. Two people had the special---shrimp and scallops in a lobster cream sauce in a puff pastry. It was very good. The only thing I would change would be an optional side of vegetables. The desserts sounded excellent but we were stuffed (and we had leftovers). You really should give this place a try. We intend to go back!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a sweet surprise this is!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I didn’t live in Taos during this chef’s original incarnation, but I frequented his ABQ version, Café Miche, for years. Casa Continental is a wonderful Euro-centric, comfortable and affordable restaurant featuring both hard to find and traditional dishes. The Chow-Chow, similar to a Thai yellow curry, is fantastic. You won’t find better escargots this side of the Atlantic. Yummy Stroganoff, tender veal, dangerous desserts. Everything is so flavorful. This is obviously a labor of love!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great meal and great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had New year's eve dinner here. We knew the chef and maitre'd from the original Casa Cordova years ago so we knew the food would be excellent which it was but we were really pleased with the prices! Everything from a glass of wine to the wonderful French onion soup right down to the exquisite chocolate mousse is very fairly priced - so nice to have a good meal and no "I overspent' hangover!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Casa Continental also viewed

 
Taos, Taos County
Taos, Taos County
 

Been to Old Casa Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Casa Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.