We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe not on Monday??” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Martyrs Steakhouse

Martyrs Steakhouse
146 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571
+1 575-751-3020
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Martyrs Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 108 Restaurants in Taos
Price range: $16 - $50
Cuisines: American, Continental, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Martyrs Lane
Description: Fine Dining Taos Style! We offer a wonderful selection of organic meats, locally grown salads, custom made desserts, and much more! Patio seating available. Large parties. Private party building. Catering.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Maybe not on Monday??”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This is such a pretty restaurant. White walls, wood floors, beamed ceiling.
They touted their cocktail menu so we ordered one and a glass of wine. I think it took over 15 minutes to get the drinks to the table. That is just too long when the restaurant and patio are not even 1/4 full. Like I said... a Monday night.
We asked to have a bottle of wine decanted. And after about 15 minutes.... we were told they "couldn't find" the bottle we requested even though they kept telling us their inventory showed four.
So we ordered a different bottle. By now we are more than done with our cocktail and sparkling wine and midway through our appetizers. It still took quite a bit of time to get the newly ordered wine to the table and opened.
That being said. I truly enjoyed by Ceasar Salad. It was perfect. The filets were tender and delicious. The vegetables - a broccolini and carrot mixture were quite tasty. The snowy white decorative mounds of mash potatoes... rather flavorless but I guess that is why some people use lots of butter.
The service was earnest. They tried hard to please but it just did not rise to the occasion. But I would gladly give it another try, just on a different night of the week.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    36
    16
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Larkspur, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Steak! Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

My wife and I were on our way north after spending a few days in Santa Fe. We decided to stop in Taos for the night to explore the area. We discovered Martyrs in a hotel tourist magazine and were extremely pleased with everything! The ambiance and the service were excellent. Both of us had the filet, and they were superb! Tender, flavorful and cooked perfectly. We ordered a peppercorn sauce, but soon discovered that the steak did not require any condiment to enhance the flavor. Great experience from beginning to end!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“10 Plus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We celebrated my husbands 74th Birthday at Martys Steakhouse for lunch and it was outstanding. The soup of the day was Roasted Pepper.....delicious. Hot baked fresh bread was a perfect compliment. Than came our salads, potatoes and sirlion steak.....cooked just the way we liked it. We finished off the meal with their famous BREAD PUDDING.....with the staff singing "Happy Birthday" and everyone else in the restuarant joined in. This is great customers. If your mouth is watering for a perfect steak dinner you must go to MARTYS STEAKHOUSE in Taos, NM.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful fine dining!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I recommend the lobster bisque, porterhouse, and prime rib. Wild boar is unique but w/small portion... Service by hostess and servers is very attentive and friendly. Building is classic buildout of blacksmith shop with very high ceilings for a historic building.
Don't park in round lot nextdoor; it will be hard to get out!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albuquerque
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I ordered a Porter House Steak. It was the best steak I have ever had! Huge! The shakti mushroom sauce is Awesome!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RikBowman, General Manager at Martyrs Steakhouse, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Yes indeed the shittake mushroom sauce is nearly everyone's favorite! I happy to know you enjoyed our porterhouse! Come back soon and try our other cuts of steak.

R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martyrs Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Martyrs Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martyrs Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.