We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mosaic Fine Dining

Mosaic Fine Dining
108-A South Plaza, Inside Hotel La Fonda de Taos, Taos, NM
575-751-3438
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 108 Restaurants in Taos
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very nice find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Firstly, this is restaurant is in the La Fonda Hotel which is not the same as its namesake in Santa Fe. One might not pick a plaza restaurant as a first choice but we stopped by late on a cold afternoon enticed by the street board offering pork pozoli. We chose the zinc bar and had a bowl of soup and a beer. The service, ambience and food was so nice we decided on an early dinner and, except for the fact that it was still lunch menu, were not disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    37
    12
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“#13?????”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had travelled from Monticello UT by motorcycle and were ready for a "splurge" night. As noted by other reviewers, this restaurant is located in the Hotel La Fonda de Taos. It's décor is simply lovely. We loved the step up tables that are set under sky lights, but were too chicken to try to get into them. Our server was a very nice young man, who was spot on his game. He offered the bar menu as well as the regular menu. The smoked brisket sandwiches sounded so good that we said sure! The first offering was a delightful southwestern corn relish pate to tease our palates. Then came our Caesar salads with polenta croutons. The atmosphere was convivial and we had a nice conversation with other patrons on motorcycles...a Londoner on a Harley on tour with friends in performance cars. Then came our brisket sandwiches-outstanding. We broke down and had the pineapple upside down cake with handmade cinnamon ice cream. We were so happy with this meal and our service. Just how can this be rated as number 13 in Taos??? Thirteen was lucky for us this evening!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Truly Exceptional Dinning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My wife and I had a delightful dinning experience here. Although there were many tempting items on the menu we both ordered the Vegetarian Mosaic. The polenta cake with harissa sauce was simply to die for. We ordered an additional side of the lentil pecan pate because we enjoyed it so much, and the sourness of the pickled veges added another tasty dimension of this exceptional plate. The atmosphere is pleasant, the staff friendly and attentive. If you're in Taos, don't pass Mosaic up!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia, USA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The Mosaic Restaurant is in the historic La Fonda Hotel right on the square in Taos. The interior of the hotel is "parkitecture" at its finest and a treat to look at. The service was wonderful and the REAL Chile Con Carne (no beans) was the best I have ever eaten. The home-made lemonade was perfecto. A thoroughly wonderful lunch/

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing dining at altitude”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We turned up in Taos, New Mexico (higher than Denver, we learned), on our road trip through the southwest not knowing where we were going to stay or where we were going to eat. We found our way to the Plaza and checked into the Hotel La Fonda. Mosaic Fine Dining was imbedded within the hotel and we gave it a shot. It was an amazing experience. Chef George Bartel is a master. It's obvious he loves to cook and knows how to put tastes and flavors together. He came out to chat to us after our meal. We don't always write reviews, but when we experience something as special as this (we went back the next day and had lunch there), we make the effort to do so.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mosaic Fine Dining also viewed

 
Taos, Taos County
 

Been to Mosaic Fine Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mosaic Fine Dining, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.