We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#13?????” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mosaic Fine Dining

Mosaic Fine Dining
108-A South Plaza, Inside Hotel La Fonda de Taos, Taos, NM
+1 575-751-3438
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 109 Restaurants in Taos
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Littleton, Colorado
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“#13?????”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had travelled from Monticello UT by motorcycle and were ready for a "splurge" night. As noted by other reviewers, this restaurant is located in the Hotel La Fonda de Taos. It's décor is simply lovely. We loved the step up tables that are set under sky lights, but were too chicken to try to get into them. Our server was a very nice young man, who was spot on his game. He offered the bar menu as well as the regular menu. The smoked brisket sandwiches sounded so good that we said sure! The first offering was a delightful southwestern corn relish pate to tease our palates. Then came our Caesar salads with polenta croutons. The atmosphere was convivial and we had a nice conversation with other patrons on motorcycles...a Londoner on a Harley on tour with friends in performance cars. Then came our brisket sandwiches-outstanding. We broke down and had the pineapple upside down cake with handmade cinnamon ice cream. We were so happy with this meal and our service. Just how can this be rated as number 13 in Taos??? Thirteen was lucky for us this evening!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    21
    11
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, CO
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Truly Exceptional Dinning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My wife and I had a delightful dinning experience here. Although there were many tempting items on the menu we both ordered the Vegetarian Mosaic. The polenta cake with harissa sauce was simply to die for. We ordered an additional side of the lentil pecan pate because we enjoyed it so much, and the sourness of the pickled veges added another tasty dimension of this exceptional plate. The atmosphere is pleasant, the staff friendly and attentive. If you're in Taos, don't pass Mosaic up!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia, USA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The Mosaic Restaurant is in the historic La Fonda Hotel right on the square in Taos. The interior of the hotel is "parkitecture" at its finest and a treat to look at. The service was wonderful and the REAL Chile Con Carne (no beans) was the best I have ever eaten. The home-made lemonade was perfecto. A thoroughly wonderful lunch/

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing dining at altitude”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We turned up in Taos, New Mexico (higher than Denver, we learned), on our road trip through the southwest not knowing where we were going to stay or where we were going to eat. We found our way to the Plaza and checked into the Hotel La Fonda. Mosaic Fine Dining was imbedded within the hotel and we gave it a shot. It was an amazing experience. Chef George Bartel is a master. It's obvious he loves to cook and knows how to put tastes and flavors together. He came out to chat to us after our meal. We don't always write reviews, but when we experience something as special as this (we went back the next day and had lunch there), we make the effort to do so.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“wonderful food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This was our first time visit to a relatively new restaurant in Taos. We had a party of 6 and sampled everything from the pasta special with 4 huge scallops, to the duck breast and the steak. No one had a bad word to say. My favorite of the evening was the PEI mussel appetizer. Although listed as an appetizer it could easily be a light meal. The staff was friendly and attentive and the service was excellent. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mosaic Fine Dining also viewed

 
Taos, Taos County
 

Been to Mosaic Fine Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mosaic Fine Dining, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.