We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing dining at altitude” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mosaic Fine Dining

Mosaic Fine Dining
108-A South Plaza, Inside Hotel La Fonda de Taos, Taos, NM
+1 575-751-3438
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 108 Restaurants in Taos
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Penzance
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing dining at altitude”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We turned up in Taos, New Mexico (higher than Denver, we learned), on our road trip through the southwest not knowing where we were going to stay or where we were going to eat. We found our way to the Plaza and checked into the Hotel La Fonda. Mosaic Fine Dining was imbedded within the hotel and we gave it a shot. It was an amazing experience. Chef George Bartel is a master. It's obvious he loves to cook and knows how to put tastes and flavors together. He came out to chat to us after our meal. We don't always write reviews, but when we experience something as special as this (we went back the next day and had lunch there), we make the effort to do so.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    20
    11
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“wonderful food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This was our first time visit to a relatively new restaurant in Taos. We had a party of 6 and sampled everything from the pasta special with 4 huge scallops, to the duck breast and the steak. No one had a bad word to say. My favorite of the evening was the PEI mussel appetizer. Although listed as an appetizer it could easily be a light meal. The staff was friendly and attentive and the service was excellent. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So called fine dining is only fair, service even lower”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

One of our party required wheelchair access. They had to use special removable ramps to supply it and when it was time to go and we had paid they left us sitting without the ramps until we waved down a staffer. Bread tasted as though the butter or oil used to make it had gone rancid but other than to say it was made that day, nothing was done. The rest of the meal was very average, not fine. Nothing especially good about any dish of our three meals.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George B, Owner at Mosaic Fine Dining, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
We're so sorry you had a bad experience at Mosaic! We strive to offer the best in food and service and I personally take all complaints and comments very seriously. We do bake our bread daily, it does contain buttermilk which can impart a sour flavor, which I believe adds to the overall character of the roll.
As to wheelchair accessibility, we are in an historic district and are renters of the restaurant property and are therefore unable to do major modifications to the structure of a nearly 180 year old structure. We provide the ramp as a convenience to our customers who require it. The previous owners have had the hotel staff physically carry wheelchairs up the stairs. Not a very dignified beginning to a dining experience. We will continue to do our best to provide the finest dining experience in Taos, and I sincerely hope that you will give us another chance to show you what we are capable of.
Kind regards,
-Chef George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Incredible food, limited menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely meal at Mosaic recently. Two of us had a bit of difficulty choosing an entree but we ended up being pleased with our choices. The vegetarian plate had Harissa which our friend said was delicious. The green chile polenta cake disappeared. My root vegetable salad was so tasty; I couldn't identify any of them except for the beets but all tasted great. The rolls were savory --again could not identify the spices but we gobbled them down. The Bouillabaisse was very good. The service was exceptional. The chef came by twice to check on us. I asked why there wasn't a piece of fish on the menu; he explained that he wanted to use fresh fish so it was not in season. That made me feel better about the limited menu. This place was a pleasant discovery and we plan to return. We split the flourless chocolate cake and enjoyed every bite. Try this place!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent dining in Taos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

House-made pasta and bread, duck breast cooked perfectly, and a cozy atmosphere... I am pleased with this discovery. We found this restaurant to be excellent value with quality ingredients as compared to the other local hotspots. Travel, to me, is a culinary adventure, so I care. So far, Mosaic is it. BTW- The staff and owners are very knowledgeable and genuine. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mosaic Fine Dining also viewed

 
Taos, Taos County
 

Been to Mosaic Fine Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mosaic Fine Dining, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.