We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice town in the mountains” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taos

Taos
First, Taos, NM
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 71 things to do in Taos
Attraction details
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice town in the mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I want to go back. I visited Taos while on a road trip. We came through the town when leaving Santa Fe. I wish we had stayed in Taos a few days and just made a day trip to Santa Fe. Why?
1. It is a beautiful town.
2. It is more affordable
3. It has more charm and plenty to do.
4. The people are extremely friendly.
5. The temperature is milder than in Santa Fe.
6. It is laid back.
7. You can do everything here that you can do in Santa Fe.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    59
    11
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A day or two in town is plenty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We were summer travelers, so the scene might be very different when snow falls. But a couple of days of tourist town stores is more than plenty, so be sure to plan adventures out of the main town. We did enjoy the Taos Pueblo and a few restaurants in the area with vegetarian food, but those are different reviews!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark,Delaware
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Great Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

There's a cool brewery, the Taos Pueblo worth visiting and then Enchanted Circle. You can also wee the Earthship Biosphere.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, CA
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“A Magical Place to Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Our second stay, which we very much enjoyed. The five museums that are on a single pass are each very different and worthwhile. Catch the Saturday Farmers' Market if you can - - a special event. Great restaurants too! Taos is a magical place.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua Tree, California
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
94 attraction reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE TO VISIT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is a very special place with great restaurants, lovely shops, easy parking, tight streets and wonderful bed/b

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taos also viewed

 

Been to Taos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.