We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe interesting if you're new to sustainable tech” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Earthship Biotecture World Headquarters and Visitor Center

Earthship Biotecture World Headquarters and Visitor Center
#2 Earthship Way, Taos, NM 87571
575-751-0462
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 36 Attractions in Taos
Type: Landmarks
Attraction details
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Maybe interesting if you're new to sustainable tech”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I was pretty underwhelmed by this experience. I have been exposed to several alternative building technologies and ideas. I found this attraction to be self-promoting ("OUR design is THE way to achieve a sustainable life") vs. ideology promoting (there are other ways to live, and here's one!). With that in mind, $7 ($7.50 with tax!) to walk through a small building reading placards, watching a promotional video and slideshow about how they do what they do, and having the opportunity to buy lots of overpriced books and knick-knacks was unreasonable.

If you've never seen something like this, certainly worth having a look. If nothing else the loud-architecture will entertain you (not all alternative, off-grid homes are this gaudy). However, for me it ranks at the very bottom of all my alternative technology experiences.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    37
    13
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Amazing, unique, must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

These homes were AMAZING!!! The 7 dollars for the tour was a little expensive ($5 for students), but it was worth it when you got to tour a model home complete with the gardens and Earthship bathrooms. There was a really interesting 10 minute video about how everything works followed by a 15 minute gorgeous slide show of Earthships in different places. If you don't want to do the tour, at least drive by because this place is amazing. They make the houses out of recycled tires, bottles, cans, and other materials. It was also very nice because the receptionist was very nice, willing to answer questions, and she also lived in one so was able to tell us about the "Earthship life".

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really unique!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We did not go inside the visitor center, but walked around and viewed the newest buildings being constructed. Most are private homes, so we didn't go there, but you could see many of them. These appear to be cutting edge buildings/homes. So glad we stopped to see them.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Interesting concept”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Homes made from recycled tires, wine bottles, pop cans and dirt which allow folks to live "off the grid". Interesting tour which makes you stop and think about consumption and it's alternatives.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placitas, New Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Otherworldly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We walked around the grounds,photographing all the cool structures. We didn't feel like paying the $7.00 entry fee to tour their display building. Some look like they came from Star Wars, Tatooine! Really beautiful designs!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earthship Biotecture World Headquarters and Visitor Center also viewed

 

Been to Earthship Biotecture World Headquarters and Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earthship Biotecture World Headquarters and Visitor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.