We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Earthship Biotecture World Headquarters and Visitor Center
#2 Earthship Way, Taos, NM 87571
575-751-0462
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 71 things to do in Taos
Attraction details
Placitas, New Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Otherworldly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We walked around the grounds,photographing all the cool structures. We didn't feel like paying the $7.00 entry fee to tour their display building. Some look like they came from Star Wars, Tatooine! Really beautiful designs!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    43
    13
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Outside Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Very interesting! This is a must-see. We did the outside tour rather than pay money to see since there were areas that were not accessible to visitors.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Must see but don't pay for the tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Very Cool but I wouldn't pay for the tour again. If they are going to offer tours they should include a tour of more than one home. The tour was a total waste of money. Most of what I saw I've read about already or seen on the travel channel. Now if they did a walking tour through one of the neighborhoods where you could take photos of the other earthships that would be worth it.

These unique homes are pretty amazing structures.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worthwhile stop if in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

A great example of truly green living and use of recycled materials. Great ideas for energy and water use. Some concepts can be used in any residence, but most are specific to these amazing homes. Not sure it would be good for small children. There is a charge, I think 5 dollars per adult.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Interesting but not compelling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

If you have the time, very interesting, but not for everyone. Those most interested in ecology would find this more interesting than I did.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earthship Biotecture World Headquarters and Visitor Center also viewed

 

Been to Earthship Biotecture World Headquarters and Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earthship Biotecture World Headquarters and Visitor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.