We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boo Hoo! Cafe Ricochet is closed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Ricochet

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe Ricochet
36 State Hwy 522, Taos, NM
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 108 restaurants in Taos
Cuisines: Contemporary
Restaurant details
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Boo Hoo! Cafe Ricochet is closed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Having heard great reviews (those on TripAdvisor as well as from locals in Taos), we were excited to head out there for lunch today. Unfortunately, we arrived to find the space is totally empty. Don't have any idea what happened, but a local who was in the parking lot at the same time we were said it had been open last week - or maybe two weeks ago.
Very sad event. I hope the chef reappears at another location!!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    10
    0
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Sheila -- Please Please don't close this one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

As hard to find as it is, this is a "neighborhood" place for me when I'm in Taos four months of the year. Once I noticed it last summer, I ate there at least twice a week, and I miss it terribly. Her curry and black bean soups, ahi sandwich, maki bowls, curry bowls and chicken curry sandwich are to die for. They've been very nice about adding a little bit of extra tuna and less avocado to the maki bowl for me, but try it as is first. I'd also order the chicken curry sandwich with no extra mayonnaise; it's wonderful. Coconut cake is very good, but the flour-less chocolate cake is excellent, even for someone that normally doesn't like it. It's not "gummy" like a lot of flour-less cakes. Only open for lunch on weekdays and only takes cash. Don't gripe -- just GO!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Such a pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

What an incredible meal! I had the ahi tuna sandwich -- probably the best I've ever eaten. I had a moment of sadness after the last bite. Everything from the bread to the wasabe alioli to the salmon itself -- perfection. Sheila was hustling here and there, cooking the food, taking orders, and running the register. Impressive, especially considering that the food was flawless. The woman has a gift!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Wow, What a Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is a terrific little restaurant on the far north side of Taos. A bit hard to find, as it is down a small hill on a dirt driveway from Highway 522. Menu is mostly sandwiches, salads, and rice bowls. My party of 5 tried something in every category and all were excellent. I would particularly recommend the ahi tuna sandwich with wasabe aioli. Very generous serving and perfectly cooked. Save room for dessert! Note that some of the food is quite spicy. No alcohol served and only open from 11 am to 2 pm Monday through Friday. My only caution is that they don't take plastic. It is fairly easy to run up a $20 per person bill, so be sure the cash or check.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taos, nm
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“yay sheila!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

it is always a treat to eat sheila's food! i dropped in for a quick lunch today..green chile and posole soup..just the right mix of spicy and sweet. perfect autumn taos food...we are grateful that sheila's little gem of a lunch spot is up and settled in. cafe ricochet should not be missed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Ricochet also viewed

 
Taos, Taos County
Taos, Taos County
 

Been to Cafe Ricochet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Ricochet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.