We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South location is awesome! North, not so much...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guadalajara Grill

Guadalajara Grill
1384 Paseo Del Pueblo SUR, Taos, NM 87571-5975
(505) 751-0063
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 110 Restaurants in Taos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
El Prado, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“South location is awesome! North, not so much...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

First of all, let me say that I love Guadalajara South! Maybe my favorite Mexican food place in town. The food is great, the service is fast and friendly and I like the vibe. Plus the prices are awesome! The only reason I give them a 4-star review is that their north location is employed by some younger, unfriendly people and their food isn't quite as good. Also, I really wish they allowed well-behaved, leashed dogs on their porch. Those two gripes aside, I'd recommend the South location anytime!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    85
    19
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Satisfy your Mexican food cravings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

There is a north and a south spot and they are equally good. Just good simple and tasty Mexican fare, fast service.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great tasting Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

A very good walk up to the counter ordering operation that gives great tasting Mexican food at very reasonable prices. A must for the casual dinner.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“"Bet you can't eat there just once"!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Read my lips "eat where the locals eat". There are so many locals at the Guadalajara Grill North that you could have a town hall meeting there every night. If your fare is more important than the ambiance then this is your place. My wife is a gourmet wannabe and her eyes lit up like a pinball machine when she bit into her fish Taco. My eyes glittered when the bill came to only $40 for two delicious meals, two desserts and a big bottle of local Amber beer for me! This is authentic Mexican, to be more authentic you would require a blaring TV set, skinny dogs lurking under the tables, and a health hazzard washroom. None of which you will find at the Guadalajara Grill- only great food that even a Canadian can afford.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good casual Mexican restaurant with outdor dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

The Guadalajara was recommended by two different locals as a place the locals go for lunch. We thought it would be more New Meixan, but it wa good traditional Mexican food. Maybe a little expensive for a place where you have to order at the window, the food is delivered to your table, but no big deal.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guadalajara Grill also viewed

 

Been to Guadalajara Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guadalajara Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.