We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Byzantium

Byzantium
112 Placitas St Ste C, Taos, NM 87571
(575) 751-0805
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 95 Restaurants in Taos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $18 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I am so glad I got to experience this restaurant!! Gracious dining from the moment you walk in the door. Nothing pretentious, but they could be, based on the superb food. Attentive, but not pushy. The salad and the dessert were delicious....I wanted to try everything on the menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    12
    9
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“over promise- under deliver”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Had a high expectations due to the reviews but was sorely disappointed. Service was slow Even though there were only two people in the restaurant. There was no house Chardonnay your only selection Sauvignon blanc and Pinot Grigio. We ordered two glasses of wine at nine dollars a piece , the serving size was very stingy no more than 3 ounces. The entrées were the same, overpriced, mediocre and the serving size small. Won't be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Don't Miss this Intimate Spot on your Romantic Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Scott has a small but fabulous menu with a great wine list as well. Open for dinner only, and closed on Tuesday and Wednesday, so plan your trip on a night when Byzantium is open. You will be amazed.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A MUST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I had not been back to Byzantium in several years and really don't know why. We decided to give it a try Sat night. First off, the owner, Scott, is great. He's so calm and pleasant. I love the decor, the lamp above our table was my favorite (only about eight tables and each one has a different lamp). It's not noisy and they have great music playing in the background. I think we had the best table in the house but every table is good. I'm attaching a photo of the mussels we started with. Not only was it a great presentation (as was everything we ordered), but oh so good. I loved everything about our meal. We ordered too much, so didn't have dessert, but I'm sure it would have been wonderful as well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Our Taos Top Pick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Like some of the other reviewers, we were in the middle of a long road trip. Our Sunday dinner of salad, chicken, bread pudding and a nice bottle of Spanish red was so perfectly suited. As others have noted, this is a labour of love for the proprietor and (small) staff; it shows up in the food and the atmosphere. Not a complaint but an observation: don't go if slower service makes you nuts. Because there is just one chef in the open kitchen, and one greeter/sommelier/server/sous-chef and cashier, things can get a little backed up. We didn't mind, we could see it all and appreciate it.

And that contrasted favourably with our other dinner in Taos at a restaurant that shall not be named but whose initials are EM, where we had at least 3 servers, but only indifferent food and a whole lot more uptight attitude. (I would have posted a TA review on it, but the owner there seems to have a part-time job responding to less-than-favourable reviews and life is too short...)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Byzantium also viewed

 
Taos, Taos County
 

Been to Byzantium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byzantium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.