We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michael's Kitchen

Michael's Kitchen
304 Paseo del Pueblo Norte Ste C, Taos, NM 87571-6321
+1 505-758-4178
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 108 Restaurants in Taos
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Dessert
Description: A family run restaurant and bakery in business for the past 37 years and still cooking! A menu of mouth-watering American and Spanish dishes, we serve breakfast, lunch, dinner and dessert.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Extraordinary!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We drove up to Taos on the pretense of doing a little shopping, lunch etc.. So gald we did! This place is exquisite. I was just floored at the portions on the plates, you get what you pay for!!! We had "Mike's mess", mmm it was so fabulicious! Cannot wait to return..h yeah have to try some baked goods. The Customer service was awesome. Thank you so much for such a great dining experience!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    183
    75
    34
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Taos
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Execrable service, cold tasteless food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Michael's Kitchen is somewhat of an institution in Taos, it is to bad it has deteriorated so badly. It seems to think it's reputation alone will save it. The breakfest burrito arrived stone cold, it was badly prepared and tastless, the service was surly and unpleasant. There are scores of resturants in Taos to choose from that have delicious food and worthy wait staff, don't waste your time and money at Michael's Kitchen.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Quick breakfast, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

I stopped for gas and asked where to get good breakfast. The station clerk sent me here. Located on the main drag, the place was fool of locals. The service was prompt and friendly. My order came quick. It was good. I would definitely try it again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Taos jewel...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

There's nothing like coming to Michael's early for breakfast...I had treated myself to Huevos rancheros,
and a nice cup of coffee, and it was so excellent, the staff there is wonderful, they are such freindly people, I felt like a kid again...and the prices can't be beat for such quality food and atmosphere...
and that was just breakfast!!! someday I hope to explore the dinner menu... :o)
advice: come early...and tip your waiter/ waitresses!!
I love Taos.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Once Upon A Time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Once Upon A Time apparently when there were few places to eat in
Taos, New Mexico Michael's Cafe became a notable place to dine. But that was Once Upon A Time. Fast forward to 2013. The best feature about Michael's is the service. Very attentive and courteous. The interior is shabby. Te bathrooms filthy. The kitchen area appears to be the same, filthy. There are far better, cleaner, places to eat in Taos where the food is good ( here the choices are vast but the food itself is mediocre). There's a "wait " to be seated......but don't.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Michael's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michael's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.