We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local's landmark, delicious, affordable, cozy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michael's Kitchen

Michael's Kitchen
304 Paseo del Pueblo Norte Ste C, Taos, NM 87571-6321
+1 505-758-4178
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 108 Restaurants in Taos
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Dessert
Description: A family run restaurant and bakery in business for the past 37 years and still cooking! A menu of mouth-watering American and Spanish dishes, we serve breakfast, lunch, dinner and dessert.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great local's landmark, delicious, affordable, cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Eat where the locals do. Friendly, welcoming. Delicious fresh ingredients, attentive cheerful service and endless refills, a huge menu with SouthWestern and American comfort food with most entrees under $10. Family owned. Also includes a takeaway bakery with pastries to die for. If I lived in Taos I'd be a regular. Go once and you'll say the same. A must-visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    183
    75
    34
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great prices for such an expensive town...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had the pleasure of enjoying lunch at Michael's Kitchen while in Taos a few weeks ago. We had missed getting to eat there last trip as we did not know they did not serve past 2:30 every day of the week. Made sure we arrived in time to eat there this time. The food was wonderful and the real Michael was there greeting guests the day we had lunch. Nice place... good food... good service... great owner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Must Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Skip the continental breakfast at your motel and get to Michaels Kitchen for a suburb meal of blue corn pancakes, 8'inch cinnamon rolls, omelets, breakfast burritos, etc. We've not eaten lunch at Michaels as we're always too full from breakfast. Coffee better than Starbucks, or anyone else's!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I hadn't eaten here for several year s- but I swear it used to be better. Not that it was bad - but just that the food was good, but nothing special. The waitstaff was very pleasant and service was fast. But I would have to say that I wouldn't probably make the effort to eat here again, but would try different restaurants.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandia Park, New Mexico
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
346 helpful votes 346 helpful votes
“Food is good, but the health inspector is asleep...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I used to go to Michael's all the time. You have to put up with a long wait often, but the food is solid. What finally made me stop going is the level of filth that the restaurant tolerates in all the common areas. With all the money they are making, it is not hard to have good sanitation and janitorial practices. When your feet stick to the restroom floor, it's time to move on....

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Michael's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michael's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.