We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast, fast service, a must when in Taos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Michael's Kitchen

Michael's Kitchen
304 Paseo del Pueblo Norte Ste C, Taos, NM 87571-6321
+1 505-758-4178
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 108 Restaurants in Taos
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Dessert
Description: A family run restaurant and bakery in business for the past 37 years and still cooking! A menu of mouth-watering American and Spanish dishes, we serve breakfast, lunch, dinner and dessert.
Westcliffe, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent breakfast, fast service, a must when in Taos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Breakfast is excellent, with a huge menu. Many locals eat here, as well as travelers. Everything fresh and they have an outstanding bakery, from bread, bear claws, pecan rolls. They had tapenades with 3 different fillings: apple, pumpkin, and prune. The prune is for those of us who long for a prune danish like found a New York deli.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    181
    75
    34
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Over-Rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

The service was fine and although the food portions were large, the food was just OK. The atmosphere was nice, though. We heard so many recommendations for this place, but didn't see what the attraction was.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great food, very large portions, friendly staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

My wife and I stopped in for an early dinner and ordered the stuffed sopapillas. She had beef and I had chicken. The ingredients were very fresh and the green chile was incredibly good. The portions were huge. We could have shared a plate and had enough left over form a meal for the two of us. The plates were served with two large sopapillas with honey butter...OMG was it decadent and good!!!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Blech.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

This place is definitely cute, and their pastries are pretty good. However, the staff was lacking in both friendliness and hygeine. The woman behind the bakery counter coughed directly into the wax tissue she used to pick up my pastry & deposited both into the bag she handed me. I'm not a germophobe by any means, but a cough donut is seriously gross, especially first thing in the morning. I suppose it's at least slightly better than spit coffee. The cashier was unfriendly as well, though we were spared any contact with his bodily fluids.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“have tried to visit for YEARS -- it's always too busy for us to wait with our ravenous hunger pangs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We FINALLY -- after nearly a decade or more! -- were able to enjoy the splendor of Michael's Kitchen. What a delight! A true, local gem in Taos. It is truly the early bird who gets the worm -- AND a seat and service at Michael's. It is a breakfast/lunch diner. If you don't make by 2:30, you are out of luck --- until the weekends when they stay open later -- but, you can also expect the slacker weekend crowds too.
Michael's is a destination. GO. Enjoy. Meet new friends. Make old memories....the food and the service are good, too!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Michael's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michael's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.