We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Michaels Kitchen Cafe & Bakery

Michaels Kitchen Cafe & Bakery
304 C Norte Pueblo Road, Taos, NM 87571
575-758-4178
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Bakeries in Taos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Coffee Shop, Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: A family run restaurant and bakery in business for the past 37 years and still cooking! A menu of mouth-watering American and Spanish dishes, we serve breakfast, lunch, dinner and dessert.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

We ate here twice during our visit to Taos and it was very good both times. Highly recommend the local dishes. The red and green chile is outstanding. The service was excellent. One person in our party of six is a vegetarian and ordered the red chile sauce with her order, which we did not know included meat. When she received her order and noticed the meat, the waiter unhesitatingly let her change her order to green chile without meat. They were very quick to prepare her order. Food is very good. Great place for breakfast.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    204
    78
    36
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
299 helpful votes 299 helpful votes
“Unpretentious, filling and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

No-one could ever accuse this place of being a chic restaurant - but it does what it does very well. The food is basic Southwestern in portions that are mountainous by European standards but are obviously expected - judging by the size of the local customers....Pricing is modest and service friendly if occasionally a little amateurish. If you want a local Taos experience - as opposed to some of the snootier places - then I suspect this is hard to beat.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Nice stop for lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

Crowded little cafe... but didn't mind.
The walls are wood, it's quaint -- NOT romantic -- just perfect for a breakfast or lunch.

Food: I asked for their spiciest thing -- it was definitely NOT spicy. Had pretty good flavor, but I've had better Green Chili Chicken Enchiladas!

Menu: American, Mexican, most people can find something to order here.
There is a little bakery here whereyou can get donuts, pastries, cookies, home made bread, honey, coffee -- I really liked that part -- the fact that it was in the middle of the restaurant was weird and made it feel crowded.

Am I glad I went? Sure. Might or might no do it again. It was just a little better than OKAY. The portions are generous.

Oh... my favorite -- the Sopapilla with butter and honey!!! YUM

  • Visited March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent location, great bakery, pretty good food, OK service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

If you want to be right in the heart of the Taos tourist scene, it doesn't get much better than Michael's. You definitely want to pick up some bakery items on the way out. Be sure to order something with green chiles. The service leaves something to be desired, but hey, this is Taos. Take it or leave it.. They really don't care, and if you get a smile or a kind greeting, count yourself lucky. Sad but true.

  • Visited December 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vashon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Filled with knowing locals.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

This breakfast was so unbelievably good it's almost impossible to
think about it. The best possible service from the nicest people ever.
Food---simply fab. This was the place the locals we asked recommended for
breakfast. OMG! Wait until you see those cinnamon rolls..one could be a
wedding cake!

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michaels Kitchen Cafe & Bakery also viewed

 
Taos, Taos County
 

Been to Michaels Kitchen Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michaels Kitchen Cafe & Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.