We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal at 5pm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doc Martin's

Doc Martin's
125 Paseo del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571
575 758 1977
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 108 Restaurants in Taos
Price range: $0 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Bent Street
Description: Doc Martin's Restaurant is an acclaimed fine dining establishment located in a registered historic landmark. A Taos tradition for locals and visitors alike, the warm ambiance of the main latilla room in Doc's has been a gathering place since the Taos Society of Artist's first met here in the 1920's and 30's. Headed by Executive Chef Gary “Zippy” White, our menu is a presentation of New American and Northern New Mexican cuisine, specializing in fresh organic foods from the Southwest. Known for its incredible value and extensive breadth of selections from old to new world, our wine list has earned Wine Spectator's "Best Of" Award of Excellence for twenty-one consecutive years. Pastry Chef Gayle Glanz creates sumptuous “beyond belief” desserts nightly that tantalize the senses and send our customers away with sweet memories.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Good meal at 5pm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We were about to leave Taos and wanted to go somewhere for dinner. I heard about Doc Martin's in a magazine that gave it good reviews. We got there right at 5pm when they were just opening and were sat immediately.

The restaurant sits in a historic building in the center of town and had a very cool authentic feel to it.

Our server was friendly and attentive and took good care of us. The food was very tasty (I had the scallop appetizer and the ribs for dinner, my partner had a sautéed shrimp entree.

The prices were a bit high for what you got and the menu seemed a little limited as there weren't a lot of entrees that interested me even though I am not picky. A good place to make a stop while in Taos, NM

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    157
    75
    45
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hot spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Food was excellent, entertainment great and place was packed and full of energy. Restaurant was sold out so ate in the bar ( same menu). Service was top-notch despite their being at max capacity.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southrn California
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Way Better than the Expected Shoe Leather!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Beyond the confusing name (with a wonderful historical story) this eatery is not to be confused with the boots by the same name. Located in the heart of historic Taos, the service and food were both first rate. I was dining with a friend/long-time resident of Taos, and this was her number-one choice for entertaining an out-of-town guest...need I say more?

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, Wyoming
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stayed at the attached hotel and went here frankly, because I was recovering from a week plus on the road with a bad cold and didn't have the energy to venture outside the hotel. It was my last night in New Mexico and I couldn't stand leaving without having some New Mexican cooking, so I chose the Blue Corn Chicken Enchiladas. I was not disappointed! After a week of being unable to eat more broth soups and tea; I frankly doubted my ability to eat much. People think the secret of New Mexican cooking is "red" or "green" sauce, but it is also in the simplicity of dishes. Tender, moist chicken, rustic texture of blue corn tortilla, creamy cheese and the heat of green chili. Heaven, before I knew it, I'd eaten the entire enchilada.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Roasted garlic and goat cheese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Dined here Saturday night and would recommend making reservations - there was a live band in the adjacent bar area and it's a popular joint. The roasted garlic and goat cheese was amazing, as was the Caesar salad. We also had the steak and swordfish special, and the doc's green chili something with goat cheese...all very good. We had to stop our waiter a couple times but at least he could be found.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doc Martin's also viewed

 
Taos, Taos County
 

Been to Doc Martin's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doc Martin's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.