We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smaller pieces, lower quality” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Taos Pizza Out Back

Taos Pizza Out Back
712 Paseo del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571-6159
505 758 3112
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 108 Restaurants in Taos
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Italian, Pizza, Contemporary
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Smaller pieces, lower quality”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

1 month ago I would have given Taos Pizza Outback 5 stars. Unfortunately the new manager Aaron in his warped (un Taos like) attempt to raise company profits has reduced the slice size by 25% and somehow managed to kill the quality in the doing. Say goodbye to the best pizza in Taos.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    78
    24
    24
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
kerrville
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Best Pizza ever....worst service ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We got 4 different slices and a salad...Wonderful!! Our waitress forgot us, forgot out salad. Caught other staff to refill water etc...only saw waitress when she took order and brought food. HAd to ask for our ck at the register.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, Ohio
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“WOW! What a hidden surprise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The pizza was very excellent, but the restaurant is a bit rustic. Suspend your judgment when you first see the outside and head on it for some good food. I definitely would go back and try some of their other dishes. Definitely a place to try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Family Vacation 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We called ahead and ordered our pizzas for carry out and the employee that answered the phone was very helpful and knowledgeable about what was on the menu and how many we would need for our group of 11 and she also had some great recommendations on some very tasty pizzas. We took them home and they were delicious we had The Shredder and that was the biggest hit with the green chili

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“NEVER AGAIN!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My family and I have eaten at Taos Pizza Outback for 15 years and will never again return! The food and service used to be great- it was literally our first stop when we got to Taos and our last. The staff used to be friendly and knowledgeable, but this is no longer the case! There used to be a female manager there that was always positive and remembered my wife and I and our family every summer we returned, she gave fantastic service, extremely knowledgeable about what the restaurant was serving under her watch and knew her job. We could count on seeing many of the same great waitstaff year after year- sadly for it's customers and the reputation that has changed.
We had a waiter that took an immensely long time getting to our table after we asked several times and when he finally made it passed the blame to the girl behind the counter for not telling him- our experience was downhill from there. We waited two hours for salads that were wilted and burnt pizza! No one offered any kind of compensation and when asked about the MOD we were told there wasn't one! The prices have soared and portions inconsistent since we started going in the late 90s. Sorry Pizza Outback- but what for us was a Taos landmark will not see another dollar of mine!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taos Pizza Out Back also viewed

 

Been to Taos Pizza Out Back? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taos Pizza Out Back, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.