We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hike!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Williams Lake

Williams Lake
Taos Ski Valley, Taos, NM
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 36 Attractions in Taos
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Attraction details
Columbia, MO USA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We are a couple of flat landers in our mid 60's.....and loved this hike. But a word of warning....the altitude is a killer! I think we stopped every 100 yards to gasp. But it was beautiful and we did make it to the lake. The trail was very slippery and snow covered. I had wished I had walking poles and my yak track shoe grippers because of the ice. We ended up using some old sticks found along the way to help maintain balance on the icy trail when descending.

The air was clear...the scenery beautiful and because we went mid week...we hardly saw anyone.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    6
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I would caution anybody who is not acclimatized to the 7000' altitude and/or not in good shape. However, although a steep climb, it is not that long--~2 miles--and the scenery is beautiful! Not a very big lake, but a beautiful vista. Great way to spend the day. Bring bread for the birds.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A winter wonderland in fall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The town of Taos had a thunderstorm the night before our spectacular hike. Little did we know it had snowed about 2 inches in the mountains. The evergreens and the mountains were breathtaking all dressed in white. The elevation climb is more then reviews led us to believe but frequent stops to catch our breath gave us extra time to take in the beauty. Perhaps the snow kept others away but we only passed a few people the entire hike. A highlight of our trip.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sea Level Livers Beware”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was a beautiful hike starting around 7000' and went directly up from there. I am 50 years old and in decent shape. We hiked up for 1 hour and 50 minutes. We had to stop many times to catch our breath. I think the altitude killed us.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lion, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful hike among the evergreens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was good to see a bit more green after traveling through the high desert scrub. Saw many wildflowers and mushrooms as well as aspens,spruce and pine. Easy hike up a well marked trail.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Williams Lake also viewed

 

Been to Williams Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Williams Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.