We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At Casa de Valdez, you don't just eat out, you dine!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Valdez

Casa de Valdez
1401 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Southside Next to Rio Grande Ace Hardware, Taos, NM 87571
575-758-8777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 108 restaurants in Taos
Cuisines: Barbecue, Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“At Casa de Valdez, you don't just eat out, you dine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Very, very good food, prepared in a healthy and caring way! Delicious New Mexican food, (especially the green chile enchilidas), ribs and desserts. Great ambiance where you can actually have a decent conversation with your party not having to talk above the noise. And if you're lucky, Mr. Valdez, a tall, handsome gentleman, will come out to greet and check on you. A total dining experience!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    27
    6
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ranchos De Taos, New Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant! Great Ribs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I really like everything about this restaurant! Great ambiance with a traditional New Mexican decor! The service is excellent, and on a timely manner. The short ribs were mouth watering to stare at and once eaten I was totally satisfied. I also recommend the German coleslaw, and homemade, made from fresh mash potatoes. For dessert I really enjoyed the flan, for it was a delightful finish to a good meal! The final price was well in my budget!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co springs, co
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“not edible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

worst restaurant i have ever been too, food was not edible!!!
i cant believe positive reviews, and family works in restaurants, so I know quality

ck my reviews out on trip advisor or yelp, i never gave bad rating before!

do not stop at this place, cant tell a book by cover, looks interesting from out side.

asked for steak fries, got homemade potato chips
corn was blah, texas toast was terrible and I wouldnt feed the meat to my dog
of course that assumes I could even open the saran wrapped package without a blowtorch!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos
1 review
“Excellent Dining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We have eaten here many times. The service is excellent and the food is delicious. We will continue to eat here. Anything from the nachos to the steaks, margaritas to desserts. Everything is tasty!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Authentic New Mexican Specialties”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The sign outside tries to convince you to try their bbq - brisket, ribs, etc. But we stuck with the New Mexican selections, and we were rewarded. Blue corn cheese enchiladas with a deep, rich red chile and copious amounts of a mixture of jack and cheddar were served hot, through and through. So were the chiles rellenos (too often at other restaurants these go from freezer to fryer with resulting cold centers). The green sauce was just as good, in its own way, as the red. The beans were top quality too. Only the posole (an option, other choice is rice) was a disappointment. There was little flavor, just a touch of some beige "gravy" in place of the rich broth and chile flakes I'm used to. Next time (and there will be a next time) I'll try the rice. There were also some lunch specials that looked good on the blackboard. There were several families in the attractive and extensive dining room, and people seemed to know each other, visiting between tables. It lent a homey atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa de Valdez also viewed

 
Ranchos De Taos, Taos
Taos, Taos County
 

Been to Casa de Valdez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Valdez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.