We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everyone needs to experience an earth ship” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Earthship Biotecture

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Earthship Biotecture
Save Saved
You added Earthship Biotecture to your Saves list
2 Earthship Way, Box 1041, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Taos
Ortonville, Michigan
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Everyone needs to experience an earth ship”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent 2 nights in Lemuria in early April. We were both completely impressed. My husband is a licensed builder, a master home inspector and a renewable energy installer. So he was skeptical of the design before we arrived. He came away very impressed. He was most impressed at how comfortable the room temperature was on the cold nights even though there was no HVAC system.
During our stay, we really tested the systems to see if they would stand up to our normal energy demands. My husband was again skeptical, because there were only four solar panels. (Our house back in Michigan is powered by 68 solar panels.) In Lemuria we had all the hot water we needed and all the electricity we needed for laptops, iPads, and phones. Overall, it was a great experience that I'm grateful for. Thank you sooo much.
Tip: make sure to spend some time star gazing. The night sky was amazing.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
17
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palos Verdes
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I was quite impressed with the work being done at Earthship Biotecture. A dedicated crew of designers and craftsmen have proved that one is capable of living in a self sustaining structure, while recycling cast off materials that would only go to fill over crowded landfills. A visit to Earthship will make it clear that one can live quite nicely while protecting our natural resources and environment.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnison, CO
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I very much enjoyed the tour, video/slide show, and personal question time with a staff member at the Visitors Center. The recycling of materials in the construction of the sustainable homes and the sustainable practices (e.g., solar panels for power, reclaimed water/snow, greenhouse
along sunny side of the home) were fascinating to see in practice. As I learned, these homes are not necessarily less expensive than traditional dwellings, but certainly more earth friendly.
The only change I would make is to reduce the admission price by $2 since it seemed a bit
pricey for what could become a great marketing opportunity for Earthship.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenport, Long Island Wine Country, New York
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

A truly bizarre experience. This is a really unusual thing to see. People living off the grid in re-used and recycled materials. It is worth checking out. The houses are private, and most of the roads are posted with no trespassing signs. There is the main attraction tour, through a large earth ship, with videos, and a walking tour. The entrance fee was a bit on the pricey side, but worth it. I felt like I was in Who-ville in a Dr. Seuss book.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed in the Studio Earthship for two nights.

This was a really cool experience! It was such a unique experience that the little details don't matter like they might in a hotel. Everything was surprisingly comfortable and plentiful-- from hot water to drinking water to the entire space. It was great to feel far away from everything in an experience that was also educational and encouraged the broadening of the mind.

We had a large, comfortable bed and the unit was spacious and included a large couch as well. The kitchen was nice and had everything you need though we wondered if the fridge stayed cold enough. We loved all of the lovely plants and even made a friend (see picture). We loved the total darkness at night for stargazing (there are no streetlights in the area). Despite the outdoor temperatures dropping to the teens overnight, the room was always really warm.

The Apple TV was a bit annoying to use-- not great connectivity so the ability to watch anything was spotty. One of the Earthship DVDs was missing as well. The refrigerator made a rattling sound at night (only at night?!) that was very distracting-- especially in contradiction to the silence everywhere else, so was a bit sad to have to use earplugs to block that out.

The information provided by the Earthships in terms of directions and instructions were very thorough and well put together (not to mention useful).

The Taos area was beautiful and fun to explore-- the town of Taos was about a 20 minute drive down the road.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabeck, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We spent a night in the Lone Tree II. Freezing cold outside, cozy and quiet inside. We watched a short video on the construction technique, and spent some time with a very enthusiastic intern who showed us how the house worked. We loved the greenhouse, the colorful tile in the bathroom, the stained glass window, and the lovely soft finish on the walls. We went outside after dark and sat on the back steps just looking up at the sky. So clear out there away from city lights-we could see the milky way. I am so happy we came!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur, Colorado
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I'd heard about this place, but recently we were able to actually visit it and tour the area. Very interesting, love the concept of living off the grid and using materials we already have to build a home. There is a short video as part of the entrance fee, it was interesting. I loved learning about how they recycle all of their water and how it collects on the roof during a rain or snowstorm. My only suggestion for the visit, was I wished we could haven't gotten a personal tour with a "guide" as I think we could have learned even more vs. touring the area by ourselves.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Earthship Biotecture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earthship Biotecture

Address: 2 Earthship Way, Box 1041, Taos, NM 87571
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nightly Earthship Rentals offers unique, fully furnished demonstration homes to experience completely sustainable, off-grid living. Available Earthships include private luxury homes, small efficiency units and other special properties in Taos, New Mexico. Fully furnished homes with modern amenities. This is not just a hotel. The Earthships provide an experience of living in an truly modern, sustainable home. Wifi Internet, TV, growing food, the ultimate in green buildings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Earthship Biotecture Hotel Taos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earthship Biotecture, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.