We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wowza!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Grande Gorge Bridge

Rio Grande Gorge Bridge
US 64, 10 miles west of Taos, Taos, NM
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 36 Attractions in Taos
Type: Bridges, Landmarks
Activities: Walking
Attraction details
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wowza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Absolutely amazing view. We were able to park for free...and walk across the bridge to get a good look. You can't get a good look from the car - you have to get out and make sure you bring your camera. Very nice...still in awe at Mother Nature.

Oh, it's a great place to stop if you're looking for locally hand crafted art and jewelery. Plus there is a big hippie bus - serving coffee and ice cream.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    523
    335
    84
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merrick, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Weak-in-the-Knees Bridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This bridge is 650' above the Rio Grande. The views are beautiful. I don't know if this is always the case but when I was there it was extremely cold and windy, although it wasn't that cold and windy once I left the bridge.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Park for free and hike some of the state park trails around the gorge and then walk out onto the bridge and some of the scenic overlooks. Watch the edge as there are no guard rails on the park trails! But the 800+foot drop to the river below was simply amazing.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A Nice View from a High Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Walk across the bridge and feel the bridge sway when big vehicles drive across. Nice views and if you're lucky like me, i saw 5 bighorn sheep. There is easy access and parking. Not sure about accessibility factor....I don't think wheelchairs or a walker would be too safe. Canes etc probably okay.

The reason for 3 stars instead of 5 is that this is the 3rd gorge I've been to and because of that, it just really isn't all that thrilling or high. But, I did not see the bighorn sheep at the others.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York Beach, Maine
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

The view from either side of the bridge are awesome.The couple we were with could not get out on the bridge because of the height but it was worth it to go out on the bridge.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Grande Gorge Bridge also viewed

 

Been to Rio Grande Gorge Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Grande Gorge Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.