We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value, beautiful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   317 Kit Carson Road, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
evanston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic value, beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

Better lucky than smart. When I was dong a search for places to stay in Taos I somewhow ended up selecting the El Monte Sagrado and what good fortune that was. This is a very tranquil and beautiful setting with great rooms and only a short walk from downtown Taos. I dare say the grounds and backdrop remind me of some beautiful hotels in Jackson, Santa Barbara, and Phoenix at about half the price. Enough said.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    156
    90
    53
    35
See reviews for
153
366
23
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

Although the grounds of El Monte Sagrado are serene and lovely, the rooms are quite dim. When I expressed my concern to the concierge about the lighting, especially in the bathroom, she just shrugged. They also ran out of coffee packs for the room and wouldn't get a new supply in until the next day. In addition, for an upscale hotel I was surprised that they did not have actual coffee cups, but only provided paper cups in the room for their guests. Otherwise, it is a lovely setting and very quiet.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

This resort is just fabulous! The rooms are very tastefully decorated and immaculate, the grounds are exquisite and the location is perfect. With views of the mountains during the day and a firepit to sit by in the evening, there isn't a time when being outdoors at Monte Sagrado doesn't make you feel relaxed and rejuvenated. There was live music at the bar which we enjoyed and we loved having the ability to walk into town for dinner. Although the indoor pool was surrounded by foliage and quite picturesque, I am not a fan of indoor pools and wish there had been an outdoor pool.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elida, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

We went to Taos for a wedding and we were very impressed with this hotel, weve stayed in Las Vegas (NV), Albuquerque, Dallas,,,,and this was by far the nicest stay weve had anywhere. The grounds were beautiful, the staff was very nice, valet was great. The bar was fun and the food was delicious! Our room was very nice with a private balcony and a huge soaking tub, and the bed was so nice and comfy! The only complaint i have is the hidden fees on our bill. We did get a discounted rate for being there for the wedding but for a 2 night stay we had an extra $110 in 'resort fees' 'lodging fees' and taxes on top of those fees, was not too happy with that. But overall it was wonderful and I would love to go back again some day!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

This is a gorgeous place to stay and relax. Our suite overlooked the brook and small waterfall on the grounds. Suites are spacious and well planned for comfort. Spacious balcony with table and chairs. The staff is extremely accommodating, knowledgeable about the area and very courteous at all times. The grounds are well maintained and a very pleasant place to stroll through. The pool area is beautiful, filled with many trees and plants. At check in Kay showed us several rooom types so we could find the perfect one for our stay. You get the feeling the staff wants every guest to be completely satisfied with their stay. Would certainly stay there again and again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

This is a resort that is very restful and serene for body and soul. The room decor as well as the grounds are delightful and, the grounds especially, aesthetically soothing and serene. There is a bit of a New Age quality about the place which is pleasing to some, but may not be to others, but there is no denying the beauty and serenity of the grounds. A lot of work and planning and what appears to be environmental sensitivity went into this place. Despite what some have said about service here, our experience has been one of very good to excellent service. Once in a while there does seem to be some understaffing perhaps, but I have seen that at many other places. I have seen very little in the way of rudeness by the staff. My wife was sad, almost to the point of tears, to have to leave here on our last couple visits. She loves it that much.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

We arrived in Taos without a reservation and stopped at El Monte Sagrado to see the resort. Aaron at reception took us around the resort and checked us in with efficiency. He along with all the staff at the hotel were gracious and helpful. We asked for a morning newspaper to be delivered at 8:00 am. They called from reception at 8:00 am to tell us the papers had not been delivered and one was delivered at 8:15. The food in the restaurant was fantastic. Overall, the service and room were outstanding and look forward to returning.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection

Address: 317 Kit Carson Road, Taos, NM 87571
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Monte Sagrado Hotel Taos
El Monte Sagrado Taos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.