We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing first class hotel minus a few faux pas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   317 Kit Carson Road, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #2 of 18 hotels in Taos
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Relaxing first class hotel minus a few faux pas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'll get the negatives out of the way first: Some of the bell staff were not the friendliest. You are charged 20.00 per day, if you park it, or they park it. I'm still aggravated at being charged 14.00 per night for the internet. The sign on the doors state the entrances are locked from 8pm to 6am, they were never locked during our stay.

Now on to the positive: Fantastic Views, great spa, great food, huge well appointed rooms, and water features. They spent a fortune on this place and it shows. I have been in comparable rooms at 400 plus per night, yet we were at 179.00 As a loyal Hilton Diamond, I made the decision to stay here after less than favorable reviews of the only Hilton Chain (Hampton) Hotel in the market. We stayed here for 50.00 more per night, and it was worth every dime.

Room Tip: Rooms facing courtyard or water features are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    309
    128
    76
    43
    30
See reviews for
133
304
21
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Il.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay here and wished we'd spent more time in Taos. Our room was a suite overlooking the stream, room 13. That's right, there is a stream running through the property which generated the the sound of a creek flowing outside of our balcony. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. They went out of there way to make our stay pleasant.

The location is a short walk to the plaza but being off the main road made for a peaceful nights sleep. I highly recommend the hotel and hope to return in the future.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

This was a beautiful resort in a rustic setting. The room was amazing in size and decoration. We did not eat on the premises so I cannot speak to the food. We enjoyed the pool and exercise room. Staff was very friendly.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Our room was by far the most unique room we have ever had. It was our own little adobe villa with decor that matched the landscape. We only stayed one night but the hotel is gorgeous, centrally located to all the shops and restaurants and the staff is very friendly. We ate at the hotel and the food was delicious. The only thing I wish was better was the water in the shower could have been hotter and had better water pressure.

Room Tip: Make sure you get your own adobe villa vs. a hotel room. I think the hotel has both options.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

After a weekend destination wedding for our daughter in Denver, where we stayed at a JW Marriott, we had ample Reward Points for a relaxing serene two day stay in Taos on our drive back home. We were looking forward to our stay at El Monte Sagrado. The grounds are lush and gorgeous and we anticipated a casita to match the ambiance. As loyal patrons of the Marriott system, we expected to be treated as such. Unfortunately, we were ushered to a casita at the remote end of the property. We checked in after 7:00 PM and there was an empty tray of food at the front gate of the casita. The casita itself, while supposedly in the New Mexico style, was very poorly lit, had a leaky pipe in the shower which leaked on to the floor and may have contributed to the dank odor we noticed. Not one to use the old school coverlets we substituted a blanket which had a few stains, nixed that and used robes as a blanket. The rug was frayed, the stove in the kitchenette had grease and we had to call the front desk to deliver a remote for the tv. We get and appreciate charming and rustic. That's what we expected but we didn't expect the sub standard conditions. Is this how they treat loyal customers?

We decided to leave after the first night. Upon voicing our disappointments, the friendly staff immediately offered another casita. The hotel was not full and had not been full and they unable to tell us why we were placed in that casita initially if there were available rooms that are of better quality. Very disappointed.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly R, Executive Assistant at El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
I apologize for your disappointment. We will certainly try to determine why the choice of Casita was made and discuss their disappointment with all of the departments involved. We appreciate your feedback and will endeavor to improve the quality of product we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I found El Monte on trip advisor. It has all the charm of Taos even though it is a new property. The grounds are beautiful with great views of the mountains. We got there planning on staying one night. After seeing the room we decided on the spur of the moment to stay a second night. They were able to accommodate us. The rooms are very spacious and clean. Loved the show with the rain head. It was close to the square and the hotel provides free shuttle service which is a real plus. Finding parking along the square is not easy. We really enjoyed the breakfast but the dinner's not so much. I had a Caesar salad and the lettuce had a lot of yellow cores. It may have been an off night or I ordered wrong. If in Taos eat breakfast at the hotel but one of the other restaurants for other meals. Good value for the price. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield Park, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We recently stayed here for 2 days as a getaway. When we arrived the valet parking was backed up due to a wedding on the property. The property only has valet parking at a cost of $20/day. The valet was pleasant and we were escorted to check in, again, a wait due to the wedding. We were finally given a room at the end of the property away from the wedding that would be quiet. Our second floor room was spotless with lovely decor in tune with the area. There was a spacious balcony that overlooked mountains and beautiful trees. There was a nice size fridge in the room, spacious soaking tub & large shower. There was also a cozy fireplace in the corner. Our room was extremely quiet, never heard a sound! We enjoyed the restaurant on the property & the bar food servings in the lounge area are a meal in themselves. There are comp copies of the WSJ & USA Today in the lobby daily. We didn't use the pool, however did check out the billiards room. The decor, architecture & attention to detail of the property is truly beautiful. We found the staff to be very pleasant & helpful. We definitely would return if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection

Address: 317 Kit Carson Road, Taos, NM 87571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Monte Sagrado Hotel Taos
El Monte Sagrado Taos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.