We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Adobe Villas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   317 Kit Carson Road, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #2 of 18 hotels in Taos
Chicago
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Cute Adobe Villas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Our room was by far the most unique room we have ever had. It was our own little adobe villa with decor that matched the landscape. We only stayed one night but the hotel is gorgeous, centrally located to all the shops and restaurants and the staff is very friendly. We ate at the hotel and the food was delicious. The only thing I wish was better was the water in the shower could have been hotter and had better water pressure.

Room Tip: Make sure you get your own adobe villa vs. a hotel room. I think the hotel has both options.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    309
    128
    77
    43
    30
See reviews for
134
304
21
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

After a weekend destination wedding for our daughter in Denver, where we stayed at a JW Marriott, we had ample Reward Points for a relaxing serene two day stay in Taos on our drive back home. We were looking forward to our stay at El Monte Sagrado. The grounds are lush and gorgeous and we anticipated a casita to match the ambiance. As loyal patrons of the Marriott system, we expected to be treated as such. Unfortunately, we were ushered to a casita at the remote end of the property. We checked in after 7:00 PM and there was an empty tray of food at the front gate of the casita. The casita itself, while supposedly in the New Mexico style, was very poorly lit, had a leaky pipe in the shower which leaked on to the floor and may have contributed to the dank odor we noticed. Not one to use the old school coverlets we substituted a blanket which had a few stains, nixed that and used robes as a blanket. The rug was frayed, the stove in the kitchenette had grease and we had to call the front desk to deliver a remote for the tv. We get and appreciate charming and rustic. That's what we expected but we didn't expect the sub standard conditions. Is this how they treat loyal customers?

We decided to leave after the first night. Upon voicing our disappointments, the friendly staff immediately offered another casita. The hotel was not full and had not been full and they unable to tell us why we were placed in that casita initially if there were available rooms that are of better quality. Very disappointed.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly R, Executive Assistant at El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
I apologize for your disappointment. We will certainly try to determine why the choice of Casita was made and discuss their disappointment with all of the departments involved. We appreciate your feedback and will endeavor to improve the quality of product we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I found El Monte on trip advisor. It has all the charm of Taos even though it is a new property. The grounds are beautiful with great views of the mountains. We got there planning on staying one night. After seeing the room we decided on the spur of the moment to stay a second night. They were able to accommodate us. The rooms are very spacious and clean. Loved the show with the rain head. It was close to the square and the hotel provides free shuttle service which is a real plus. Finding parking along the square is not easy. We really enjoyed the breakfast but the dinner's not so much. I had a Caesar salad and the lettuce had a lot of yellow cores. It may have been an off night or I ordered wrong. If in Taos eat breakfast at the hotel but one of the other restaurants for other meals. Good value for the price. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield Park, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We recently stayed here for 2 days as a getaway. When we arrived the valet parking was backed up due to a wedding on the property. The property only has valet parking at a cost of $20/day. The valet was pleasant and we were escorted to check in, again, a wait due to the wedding. We were finally given a room at the end of the property away from the wedding that would be quiet. Our second floor room was spotless with lovely decor in tune with the area. There was a spacious balcony that overlooked mountains and beautiful trees. There was a nice size fridge in the room, spacious soaking tub & large shower. There was also a cozy fireplace in the corner. Our room was extremely quiet, never heard a sound! We enjoyed the restaurant on the property & the bar food servings in the lounge area are a meal in themselves. There are comp copies of the WSJ & USA Today in the lobby daily. We didn't use the pool, however did check out the billiards room. The decor, architecture & attention to detail of the property is truly beautiful. We found the staff to be very pleasant & helpful. We definitely would return if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I would agree with top of the line rating on the property and the cleaning staff. But reception, concierge, and parking staff were definitely sub par for any Marriott. Restaurant service was not poor but close. Was that because we were ready to check out? Taos has so much to offer the local and not-so-local traveler that a Marriott franchise needs to be aware of. El Monte Sagrado seemed to believe that Taos began and ended on their property. If you explore the mystic of Taos, stay conventional and seek out the local lodging and recommended sites.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly R, Executive Assistant at El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
We are sorry we failed to live up to our standards and provide you a memorable experience. Please feel free to contact us and discuss specific details of the issues that you encountered to help us fix these and make your next stay better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We recently stayed here for two days this past week. Unlike some of the reviews I have read, I thought that this hotel was beyond a doubt the only hotel that you should stay at. It was well worth the money.

The valet staff could not have been more helpful and welcoming even though a wedding was just about to take place. We were in and out and you could park it yourself if you wanted. While some reviews complained about the valet fee, they really should have just said it was a Resort Fee.

The check in was smooth and welcoming. We had a great room overlooking the pond with a bedroom, bathroom and living room. There was also an outside balcony. The check in person made sure that we would not hear the wedding and located us in #14 which I would highly recommend.

We chose to dine in the restaurant which to a foodie from New York was great. The trout and the steak were excellent as were the wait staff.

The next night we decided to eat in the bar. The waitstaff were on point and there was an American Idol contest going on Monday nights where people from the community sang, played the flute, etc.. Prices were more than reasonable.

We enjoyed the pool and hot tub. There were two computers to print out your boarding passes so I didn't utilize WiFi.

For anyone to complain about the staff or say this property is not well run obviously must not stay at Resort Hotels. We saw the Manager of the Hotel repeatedly; the Restaurant Manager asked us about our food experiences at the restaurant and bar and even the Maintenance Manager when dealt with a small problem in our bathroom, made sure it was fixed immediately.

I own a business and found everyone so pleasant, courteous and trying to please at all times.

I would highly recommend this hotel. If it were closer, I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed in May 2014 in connection with a wedding. The grounds were beautiful and well-maintained, and the staff were very friendly, helpful, and informative. Wi-fi was provided to all wedding guests free of charge and our room was clean. The only oddity in our room was that the bathroom faucet was located too close to the edge of the sink basin, resulting in much water spilling over the edge.

The food and service at the welcome reception and wedding reception was quite good. By contrast, the service at the restaurant was glacial, even though the restaurant was nearly empty for lunch. The morning coffee also was late. But on the whole, the service was fine and the hotel was an excellent value, particularly given the discount rate our wedding party received.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection

Address: 317 Kit Carson Road, Taos, NM 87571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Monte Sagrado Hotel Taos
El Monte Sagrado Taos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.