We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miami Beach Southwest” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   317 Kit Carson Road, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Potomac, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Miami Beach Southwest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I believe the brochure in our room said that this boutique property is owned/managed by a company whose other main property is located in Miami, which is entirely consistent with the ostentatious public areas and faux cow-hide adorned fixtures we found decorating our guest room. The hotel is an example of Marriott's recent trend of offering lodging choices that don't fit into one of their established cookie-cutter lines-- hence, "Autograph Collection". It's nice that Marriott is willing to "walk on the wild side" so-to-speak, but taste is a relative thing, and in this case only those with a penchant for the likes of Tony Montana will most appreciate the charms of El Monte Segrado. Check-in took much longer than it should have, made worse by the supercilious manner of the staff person which seemed to be sparked by the fact that we were using Reward points for part of the cost of the stay. This treatment held true through check-out when we were at first incorrectly charged full-price for the room. Our room was the Taos Mountain Room type, said to be more modern than the Casita style rooms. Although it was updated, aside from style-issues there was a distinctly uncomfortable feel to the furnishings and room layout. The bathroom was of the type with a glass wall separating it from the bedroom, and one of those counter-top glass bowl-like sinks that did a great job splashing water all-over when used.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KesslerCorporate, General Manager at El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We certainly agree with your statement that "taste is a relative thing". We understand that the unique decor, furnishings and artwork of El Monte Sagrado, which is designed to reflect the southwestern and artistic flair of Taos, NM, may not appeal to everyone. Our many repeat guests return for the very things you found ostentatious.
I apologize that our Front Office service failed to meet your expectations. It is our hope to make every guest of El Monte Sagrado feel warmly welcomed and please know that we value our Marriott Rewards Members.

Margaret Gratzinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    147
    87
    49
    35
See reviews for
144
348
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel and the rooms are well appointed. The bath area and the bed are separated by a curtain however. The water closet is behind a door, but if you are laying in bed, you can hear all noise from the bathroom area. The other problem that we had is that the hotel is situated in a residential neighborhood. All of the odd numbered rooms in the 400, 500 and 600 sections look out on the back yards of the neighbors. We were in room 621 and had a nice view of someone's RV parked in their back yard. The rooms are not cleaned until later in the day. We had a long hike and got back at 3:15. We wanted to shower and kick back but our room had not been made up yet. Since this is a Marriott, they still charge $10 for in room WiFi. You can self park if you have a car, but space can be limited at times.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Amazing property! We will definitely be back. The service was on par. We love taos... After staying at this property I will check out other Kessler properties. Thanks for the memories. The art in the hotel was awesome.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Our stay at this property was lovely. It was a beautiful, quiet place with well decorated rooms. Check-in was efficient and quick. Parking was close. Town was about 2 blocks away but you felt very secluded. We ate breakfast at the restaurant and it was very good. All rooms have a balcony that faces the courtyard.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here during our trip to the southwest during Easter. Upon arriving at the property we were greeted by very courteous valets. We self-parked because the parking lot was only about 15 feet away. They do charge for parking which is a little annoying but I understand that the town itself has limited parking. The lobby is strange. The first thing that we spotted when we walked in was the fireplace and then a bottle of lotion on a counter (??) that was definitely used by hotel staff. The check in needs work- it's just weird. It feels like it was thrown together with leftover furniture and has no style or design. The woman helping us check in was a little gruff despite the fact that we were the only people present but she was professional overall and helped us quickly.

The room was GORGEOUS! We had our own little patio. The living room had a beautiful fireplace. The furnishings were dark but it felt appropriate for the southwest. Our bathroom had a great, large soaking tub and the room itself was well appointed. My husband and I totally loved the stereo and CD player (with a Marriott CD) and played it the whole time. The bed was very comfortable and we slept like logs.

We tried to eat at the restaurant for breakfast but when we went it was totally dead and went elsewhere; the decor is strange here too as nothing matches and seems pulled from a Marriott warehouse. We could smell the old alcohol at the bar and it needs a good scrub. We tried to use the pool but it was closed for maintenance and the spa was drained. That was really disappointing because it was cold out! The gym was very nice and had free weights and great equipment with complimentary fruit and water.

The location of the hotel is perfect for being in town. It takes about 5 minutes to walk to the main street and you couldn't ask for a better location. Overall, this property is average. It could be so much more but it's lacking the finer Marriott touches and hospitality and needs to be updated to 2013 standards.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed here for one night in what they call a Native American Suite (Cochise Room) and it is huge. The suite had a living room, kiva fireplace, large tub and glass doors for the tub/shower combo. The bed was great and there were a large selection of pillows. The bar and restaurant areas are beautiful along with the grounds. Artwork is everywhere. Valet parking is complementary but the parking lot is only a few feet further than the valet spots so it really isn't necessary to use it. The dinner was outstanding as was the bar service. This is probably the best place to stay in Taos as it isn't one of the many hotels lined up next to each other on the south side of town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We booked the last suite at El Monte during the busy Christmas Season. We had 5 in our party and they were very accommodating. I was turned away from several places because of our family's size. We ended up putting all three kids on the king size bed and my wife and I slept on the foldout in front of the fireplace. The staff was nice, especially the men outside keeping the busy parking lot going. We had one small issue with the bathroom door lock but aside from that, our stay was perfect. It's a nice hotel in a great location. We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection

Address: 317 Kit Carson Road, Taos, NM 87571
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Monte Sagrado Hotel Taos
El Monte Sagrado Taos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.