We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   317 Kit Carson Road, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Hamilton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Our stay at this property was lovely. It was a beautiful, quiet place with well decorated rooms. Check-in was efficient and quick. Parking was close. Town was about 2 blocks away but you felt very secluded. We ate breakfast at the restaurant and it was very good. All rooms have a balcony that faces the courtyard.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    135
    85
    48
    30
See reviews for
140
326
22
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here during our trip to the southwest during Easter. Upon arriving at the property we were greeted by very courteous valets. We self-parked because the parking lot was only about 15 feet away. They do charge for parking which is a little annoying but I understand that the town itself has limited parking. The lobby is strange. The first thing that we spotted when we walked in was the fireplace and then a bottle of lotion on a counter (??) that was definitely used by hotel staff. The check in needs work- it's just weird. It feels like it was thrown together with leftover furniture and has no style or design. The woman helping us check in was a little gruff despite the fact that we were the only people present but she was professional overall and helped us quickly.

The room was GORGEOUS! We had our own little patio. The living room had a beautiful fireplace. The furnishings were dark but it felt appropriate for the southwest. Our bathroom had a great, large soaking tub and the room itself was well appointed. My husband and I totally loved the stereo and CD player (with a Marriott CD) and played it the whole time. The bed was very comfortable and we slept like logs.

We tried to eat at the restaurant for breakfast but when we went it was totally dead and went elsewhere; the decor is strange here too as nothing matches and seems pulled from a Marriott warehouse. We could smell the old alcohol at the bar and it needs a good scrub. We tried to use the pool but it was closed for maintenance and the spa was drained. That was really disappointing because it was cold out! The gym was very nice and had free weights and great equipment with complimentary fruit and water.

The location of the hotel is perfect for being in town. It takes about 5 minutes to walk to the main street and you couldn't ask for a better location. Overall, this property is average. It could be so much more but it's lacking the finer Marriott touches and hospitality and needs to be updated to 2013 standards.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed here for one night in what they call a Native American Suite (Cochise Room) and it is huge. The suite had a living room, kiva fireplace, large tub and glass doors for the tub/shower combo. The bed was great and there were a large selection of pillows. The bar and restaurant areas are beautiful along with the grounds. Artwork is everywhere. Valet parking is complementary but the parking lot is only a few feet further than the valet spots so it really isn't necessary to use it. The dinner was outstanding as was the bar service. This is probably the best place to stay in Taos as it isn't one of the many hotels lined up next to each other on the south side of town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We booked the last suite at El Monte during the busy Christmas Season. We had 5 in our party and they were very accommodating. I was turned away from several places because of our family's size. We ended up putting all three kids on the king size bed and my wife and I slept on the foldout in front of the fireplace. The staff was nice, especially the men outside keeping the busy parking lot going. We had one small issue with the bathroom door lock but aside from that, our stay was perfect. It's a nice hotel in a great location. We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Our whole stay was punctuated by very poor, almost non-existent service. It took 10 minutes for someone to show up at the car arrival location. In the lobby, not a soul at reception. Finally, someone showed up and gave the distinct impression that we should feel privileged to have her show up. Quite surly, in fact. Wasn't willing to show us to our room, when we said that the directions were very confusing (go upstars, go through offices, follow hallway, etc). Then, being hungry, we went down to the restaurant for lunch. Again, no hostess. When someone finally arrived, we were given the impression that we were imposing. Then, everything is "extra". $12 for parking in a big empty lot. $9.95 per day for Internet access. Really! In ths day and age! The rooms may be very nice, but te staff is not. Don't stay here. You would get better service in a roadside motel. One more thing: the shower is outright dangerous. You have to step up about 2 feet, straddle an 18 inch slab, then step down another 2 feet. Have to be an acrobat to do this alone.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a beautiful place in a very nice small town. Everything is well kept, service is fantastic and the hotel is full of art !!! beautiful salons, dining room ,amazing bar and rooms very well decorated although a little dark. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

El Monte Sagado is just a beautiful, peaceful, gorgeous hotel. They have a free shuttle to area sights and breakfast and parking were included in our price, but I don't think they always are. I heard someone mention a $12.00/day parking fee. We stayed in a suite that was quite large and very uniquely (in the good sense) decorated. The linens were of excellent quality and the bed was remarkably comfortable. Even the bathrobes (terry on the inside and velour on the outside) were plush. There was more than enough storage space and plenty of light for reading. The bathroom was straight out of a decorating magazine, but if you are older, you may not like the access to the tub. You go up a 6" step and then there is another maybe 9" to the top ledge of the tub. You sit on that and turn your legs in. However, there is a bar to hold on to so I guess they knew something about safety. Fixtures were modern and sleek, but the shower head could not be moved and was set so that you had to stand over the drain, blocking the flow. (That could have been just this room #14; and no, we did not ask for it to be fixed, as we were only staying one night.) Beautful bathroom to look at but not actually that practical,
There was a balcony, from which the views of the property were amazing: nature at its best. The public rooms and restaurants were very well done and they had a retail store with beautiful pieces of jewelry and artwork. Breakfast was in a very pretty atrium or garden room and the food was excellent.
I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a really nice experience.

Room Tip: Look up. Notice the chandeliers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection

Address: 317 Kit Carson Road, Taos, NM 87571
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Monte Sagrado Hotel Taos
El Monte Sagrado Taos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.