We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This lovely small hotel provides excellent service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   317 Kit Carson Road, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This lovely small hotel provides excellent service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Taos is a very cool small town and El Monte Sagrado is a wonderful small resort with excellent service. We had a wonderful breakfast in the cafe and our waiter, Joaquin, went out of his way to offer great tips on sights to see in the area. The mountain view rooms are lovely and the scenery is fabulous. Our bathroom had a huge soaking tub, large separate shower and lovely decorative tile accents. The two queen beds were very comfortable and the western themed decor of the bedroom was striking. A large turquoise encrusted ceramic cow skull accented the mantle over the gas fireplace, and two large armoires were decorated with faux cowhide. Our small balcony afforded lovely views of the mountains. This is a resort so it offers many amenities and even provides a shuttle to take you to town but if you prefer, it is a short walk to the town square.

Room Tip: Ask for a Mountain View room facing the Elk Statue, The views are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    174
    100
    62
    36
See reviews for
169
408
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I have stayed here quite a few times now and feel like I have given the place lots of opportunities to shine. The rooms are nice. The grounds are beautiful. The valet is great.

BUT...
The restaurant and room service leaves a lot to be desired. I love to order room service, but every time I do, they make me feel like I'm bothering them. My friend said they treat him the same way at the restaurant. I just don't understand the attitude. I'm paying a huge amount for mediocre food; you should at least be a little accommodating. I am a polite person and ask nicely every time. I can't have dairy but when I asked for something without cheese, the gal on the phone actually snapped at me. Who trains these people? It is a bad experience every single time I call room service. If you have allergies or any special requests, do not come here. Even though they state very clearly in the menu that they are happy to adjust dishes to meet your dietary needs, they will fight you every step of the way and make you feel like you are a really putting them out. How hard is it to remove the cheese? I really wish it would improve because it would be very convenient to be able to order room service.

Also, they do get my billing wrong every time I've been here. They are good about fixing it, however.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

the location itself is very nice, but we booked a package and got charged double the amount stated in our email confirmation. they were not able to change that, since "that would have been an impossible rate" - so what?! we ve got the total price stated in the email!
the food in the restaurant is okay, but very small portions for big money.
we will definitly stay away from this place and try to get our money back that they charged us too much.
very disappointing!!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

You couldn't ask for better service. The staff was friendly and effecient. It was refreshing to stay at a class A hotel. The room was very comfortable, although the bed was a little soft for my taste. However, it didn't keep me from sleepping 10 hours!

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My 4 girlfriends and I had the pleasure of staying here for 2 nights . What an amazing place! The rooms were spacious and beautifully appointed. Food was excellent, the grounds were landscaped so naturally. Would be a perfect place for a wedding. But by far ,it was the staff that shined. We met a gentalman named D Crowfeather that took care of the grounds. He took the time to show us many different aspects of the eco-system that makes this place so special and answered many questions that we had. He also gave us all a gift that he had handmade for each of us.This was MUCH more than an average hotel stay. We had the most amazing time . He went out of his way to make sure our stay was memorable. It was, and more! I'll definately be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We spent two nights at EMS on a recent New Mexico trip. The hotel has lovely public areas that were well thought out, comfortable, and at times stunningly beautiful and surprising to see in a town location. There is an element of environmental pro-activity here with their recycling of waste waters; very nice design implemented. We stayed in a native american suite which was cute. It consists of a small living room with fireplace, TV, and mini-fridge; a separate bedroom, and a bathroom. The living room had a door opening to the lovely grounds and water features outside, however, you were land locked and could not meander through the grounds from your back door. You had to walk all the way around to the back of the hotel to access the courtyard public areas from our room. Not a big deal as it made our patio very private. Their larger suites (almost cottages) looked truly wonderful and even more private. The bedroom was adequate and the bed was comfy. We requested feather free room and did not get it. I expected the ELS to be able to accomplish this small request...they actually solicit the customer, yet it was overlooked (these small details being overlooked are what detracted from the stay being rated higher). There was a very good sized closet, dresser, and safe in the room. The bathroom for impressive, yet not altogether functional. The large Jacuzzi tub/shower combination was difficult to get in and out of, slippery, and just not practical. One had to step over a ledge of about 2' wide just to get into the shower/tub. Granted they provided an oil rubbed bronze pole to do this, it may not be appropriate for everyone to make this climb daily. The sink area was very functional with plenty of space. Plenty of towels for guests use. Housekeeping was excellent. We ate both breakfast and room service dinner at the hotel. Breakfast quality was very good, service was quite slow. This hotel was fairly crowded the days we were there and it was evident they were understaffed for the number of guests. The restaurant and bar was always slow. Bartenders seemed continually overworked and barely acknowledged you when you sat down. They waited tables and tended bar, slowing the bar service even more. This was more than once and more than one bartender....it occurred on four occasions. The hotel needs to seriously rethink how they manage their staffing situation. Room service was a much better experience. The meals came quickly, were pleasantly presented and very good. All in all, we would entertain staying again for the right price, yet wouldn't hesitate to try one of the local B&B's instead if we returned to Taos.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed at this resort in July 2012 with my family of four (two daughters, aged 7 and 9). We stayed in the "Argentina" suite, which has two bedrooms, two baths, a large dining area and living room as well as its own private hot tub. Not all of the rooms have hot tubs, as we found out when our neighbor came snooping into our area.

The suites are generally separated with fences to give privacy. It felt like an oasis.

This is a very peaceful resort. There was a bubbling stream outside, a tranquility central area and a fun circular pool and indoor garden area. It is also very close to the downtown area so we walked a lot.

The restaurant was good. The service was alright but not polished. (For example, the person checking us in stopped to help another guest and servers were not as professional as one would have expected for this type of property.) For the price you pay, you expect top-notch service, which is why I give it 4 stars instead of 5.

Room Tip: The themed suites are awesome. Get one with a hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
0.4 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
2.8 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#6 of 17 in Taos
3.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#7 of 17 in Taos
3.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 17 in Taos
4.5 of 5 stars 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection

Address: 317 Kit Carson Road, Taos, NM 87571
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Monte Sagrado Hotel Taos
El Monte Sagrado Taos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.