We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   317 Kit Carson Road, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #3 of 18 hotels in Taos
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The hotel consists of several low-rise buildings and a few houses situated in beautifully landscaped grounds. Our room was large and very comfortable in chic rustic style with turquoise touches and river rocks in the decor. We had an enormous bath and separate shower - shutters could be opened by the bath so you could have a conversation with anyone in the room. If you wanted to. A working fireplace was a nice amenity; we enjoyed sitting out on our little patio overlooking the gardens with our glass of wine; other guests would say a friendly hello as they passed. The rooms are not recommended for vegetarians - the closets are covered with cowhide and the light-fittings look like (perhaps are?) antlers. The rooms are a bit dim - there was a huge armchair, but you couldn't sit and read in it, as there was no light behind or even near. The bed coverings were a bit weighty.
We did have one problem, not the hotel's fault, but well-solved: Our neighbors arrived back late and started playing music at a deafening volume. A call to the front desk had security arriving and they restored calm.
It's an easy walk into town - the entrance to the hotel does need to have a pathway to the road for pedestrians. It can be busy when there's is a wedding on for example and turning traffic finds foot traffic on the pavement.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    309
    130
    77
    45
    30
See reviews for
135
306
21
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
denver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I arrived in Taos around 6pm and needed a hotel that would accommodate dogs..I stayed at a dump in which the sliding glass door wouldn't lock, so I placed a chair against it, and the only other room had no AC!!!! So, next day....searched for a better nights sleep somewhere and came across El Monte Sagrado.........ahhhhhhhhhh. Dogs=no problem. Facility=awesome. Room=gorgeous. Peace and quiet from main drag....about 2 blocks away to walk to square and privacy! Enjoyed every SECOND! Food was outstanding, I had trout, I think one evening, perfect with delicious sauteed mushrooms and cheesecake to go. Portions were BIG! Room service, had a great hamburger. Would go back in a heart beat!

Room Tip: Try the spa...I didn't have time, but it looked very nice, and there were several satisfied cust...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This was a very luxurious hotel. Each bathroom had a seperate bath and shower! The rooms were very modern and they also had fireplace. There were also houses that you could get, that were differnt country themes. We liked the hotel so much we canceled our reservation the first night and ate there. The hotel was about a 5 minute walk from there to downtown. Downtown was very nice. There was many shops, and alot of them had really good prices. But some were pretty expensive. Overall, this was the nicest hotel we stayed at on our trip to New Mexico.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, CT
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We loved this hotel. It was designed to make you feel pampered. The style is southwestern/mission style. Every thing about it was given great thought: the choice of light fixtures, the furniture. Our room had a bathroom that was as big as many hotel rooms. It had a large whirlpool. The shower was separate and even the toilet was in its own separate room. Our room also had a gas fireplace and a nice balcony. We had planned on exploring Taos when we arrived but our kids were so excited by the hotel that they begged us to postpone the sightseeing a bit so they could enjoy the hotel. The pool area is very impressive. It is indoors but it has the feel of a green house. We ate lunch out on the patio. the food was very good. We had made reservations at a restaurant downtown but we decided to stay and eat at the hotel. My husband had the elk and said it was the best he ever had. I had a New York Strip which was also excellent. The service at the restaurant is a little slow we didn't mind for dinner but it was also slow for breakfast. Our rate had included breakfast for 2. As we walked around the hotel we came across an area of suites. One of the doors was open and we asked the housekeeper if we could look around. All of the suites are named after countries. We saw China. It was decorated in accordance with its name and I guess all of the suites are. Very nice. Overall a very luxurious stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here in July. We had 6 in our group so we stayed in one of their King rooms and had some of our group in a Double. Both were great rooms with private patios opening onto a serene grassy/ flower area. Rooms were of the Bohemian group of Marriott so they were very nice (one room missing wine & not neatly cleaned which is a turn off for me). Then we moved into one of the International casitas. These are gorgeous! Private small patio homes with Spanish privacy walls & water treats such as fountains and ponds etc. these had two bedrooms & 2 baths, large living rm & dining table, bar, fireplace(ours was China) which was a little off being in Taos! But they were gorgeously appointmented. I loved the really private patio area with adobe walls. Pricey!
The pool is gorgeous. The dining room is very nice & we had three evening meals that were delicious. Last night was. Bummer. Waitress didn't tell me they didn't have lasagne until she was SERVING everyone else! Then she forgot two other things. That was not good. But overall if you really want a beautiful place to stay in Taos that is memorable thus is it!!

Room Tip: Depending on your budget. There are rooms that are on the far edge that are great and less expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights with El Monte. We paid $450 for one night and $350 for the second night for the same room. The facilities were ok, the service was friendly enough. Having stayed at many, many other hotel rooms in this price range all over the world -- as well as in New Mexico such as The Inn of the Five Graces at Santa Fe for $500 (incredible inn/hotel, see review), this place was horribly overpriced and nickel and dimes clients -- such as charging an extra $3 to bring forks to our room, $12 for each night for parking (to park your own car in their lot) ...such fees added an extra $400 to our bill. Avoid and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and our two teen sons were trying to escape from the Oklahoma triple digit temperatures recently and get in some last minute family time before they went back to school. We found this hotel on TA. From what we saw and experienced it was the nicest in Taos yet still gave us the outdoorsy/lodge feel of Northern NM. This place was a perfect fit with modern lodge decor, eco friendly landscaping, upscale food and dining and a glorious SPA....yet from our patio we felt like we were in the mountains. We really enjoyed being able to sit outside and enjoy the evening thunderstorms with a fresh scent from all the sage and various trees and shrubbery surrounding our patio. Take the time to walk around and enjoy the immaculately kept grounds, fountains, ponds as they are unique and gorgeous. We were a close walk .05 miles into town and 30 minutes to Taos Ski Valley. We ate at the restaurant one night and ordered food to go another night. I have saved those comments for the restaurant review of De La Tierra..it was pretty good one night and excellent the other. ELK Tenderloin is a must try! The wine and cocktail menu are very good, go for the cucumber and jalapeno margarita...tasty. The service at the bar was excellent with well made drinks. The beds were very comfortable with a few pillow options. Here are a couple things you should know before you go. They do accept pets!! and have a few plastic bag dispensers around so you can easily clean up after your furry kid. There is a fridge in the room but there are no vending machines nor do they sell beverages in the gift shop/gallery, so you may want to stop and pick up some beverages to stock your fridge...especially if you have kids. You can order drinks from the bar...it would just be convenient to have them in your room. parking is the same $12 whether you valet or not. Parking is a commodity in Taos and most places we have traveled charge for parking it was no big deal to us. We were there the night of the Turquoise Ball and thought it was really cool to see the "society people of Taos" dressed up to support the museum...we didn't notice the noise and we were about 3 rooms down from the tent. The place was pretty quiet we thought considering it was almost completely booked when we arrived. Make sure you get by the natural water pool and take advantage of the spa..as you can use the steam room or sauna without purchasing a service. There is a couples room with a large tub you can rent...ooh, la, la...we hope to come back and do that next time. Here is the only problem we had with this place. It was a BIG problem for about 36 hours but when we finally were able to get the GM involved he resolved the problem quickly. We noticed two separate charges of over $300 before we even checked in...we thought it odd but.... We did make a change in the reservation on the second night so I am not sure if that had something to do with the next set of charges. Our check out sheet on Monday reflected accurate charges but what they charged our credit card online was more than double our stay and not accurate. I called them Tuesday and spoke to a man at the front desk who said he would call accounting and get right back to me....he never called me back. On Wednesday, I called again and a lady at the front desk said there were no inaccurate charges so I went back to check the credit card statement thinking maybe they had credited us but no.... they had charged us another $900...my husband was freaking out at this point because there were almost $2500 in charges on our CC. We finally got the GM to call us back that evening and by Thursday afternoon the over charges were removed to the correct amount. I don't believe these mistakes were intentional of course but I do think they have a problem or a kink to work out because I have noticed another comment about the billing. The problems are with booking because all the in-room and dining charges were accurate. We are pretty laid back and travel enough to know "these things happen, although not often" so this wouldn't stop us from recommending this place or returning...just be very careful to monitor the charges on your credit card even after you check out.

Room Tip: If you have the cash to splurge..try one of the themed rooms (Tibet, Karma) they were all booked whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection

Address: 317 Kit Carson Road, Taos, NM 87571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Monte Sagrado Hotel Taos
El Monte Sagrado Taos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.