We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise found in Taos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   317 Kit Carson Road, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Philadelphia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Paradise found in Taos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

As platinum members, we often seek out Marriott properties when we travel, and did so in Taos. We had never stayed at what is called an "autograph" collection hotel until now. This Kessler owned property has partnered with Marriott and therefore feels more like a quaint boutique hotel. The setting was outstanding and just enough removed from the hustle and bustle of the center of town which we easily walked to to avoid parking issues. The hotel runs a shuttle service whenever you want, should you decide to ride. The architecture is stunning with wonderful details everywhere you look. The rooms were most comfortable and attractive done in a southwestern chic style and the bathroom had one of the best showers we've ever
used! The staff couldn't have been nicer to us right from the start including the lovely Brittany who was incredibly helpful at check-in assisting us in finding just the right room and location. We were offered a suite, however, after going on a property tour, we chose a king bedded room that was bright and airy and over 500 square feet. It was quiet, peaceful and faced the inner courtyard of the hotel with a view of the mountains from our patio. While we only had breakfast here, we thoroughly enjoyed relaxing in the atrium dining room in the morning where, again, the staff couldn't have been more welcoming. The valet Nick not only drove us into town, but also ended up giving us a dinner recommendation for town that ended up being our favorite meal(Antonio's). While we never made it to the spa, we would have liked to as it looked to be amazing, as did the lovely indoor pool and hot tub. The gym was great, stocked with a good selection of equipment overlooking a beautiful setting.This place is a true gem and looked to us to be the absolute best place to stay in all of Taos. We highly recommend this property for a wonderful vacation experience.

Room Tip: I would stay away from the suites as they are small cut up spaces. The king bedded rooms with firep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
We are thrilled your recent stay at El Monte Sagrado was a pleasant experience. It is wonderful you were able to enjoy your room’s view, the relaxing breakfast in the atrium and to take advantage of the transportation. Should your travels bring you back to Taos, we would love to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    135
    85
    48
    30
See reviews for
140
326
22
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and were very happy with our choice. We had a standard mountain room, and it was lovely and luxurious. The quality of service was good and the grounds of the hotel are lovely (although the music they piped in was a little cheesy). Our only complaints are similar to everyone else's - paying for internet seems absurd at a hotel of this calibre, and the parking fee was a bit cheeky.

We didn't eat in the restaurant, but the food from room service was excellent and reasonably priced. (The mac and cheese was divine.)

Room Tip: We'd ask for a suite on the second floor and facing the internal part of the resort for the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
We are delighted you chose to spend your honeymoon at El Monte Sagrado and you were “happy with your choice”. It is great that our grand performers provided the service to help make your stay a special one. We hope to see you in the future!

Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Descanso, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

I don't think I've ever been this disappointed in what I thought was a carefully researched reservation. We stayed one night and left the following morning though we had reserved for four days. I had to fight with the reservation desk to not have to pay for the entire stay even after we listed our very viable complaints. I can't remember ever having such a miserable experience at a supposedly 'upscale' establishment. Where do I begin...

Our 'Suite' was very tiny and cramped. What was once an average motel room had been separated into three 'rooms' so they could call it a suite. There was no privacy - the bed was 2 feet from a large window with poorly fit vertical blinds and the sidewalk was RIGHT against the window, so people were walking literally right by our bed at all hours of the night and in the early morning. The back of the room opened out to a narrow common area (backed by a pond) where we shared closely cramped quarters with the family in the room next door. The bathroom was so dark you could barely see, which was a good thing as the toilet seat had worn spots and the tile around the tub was peeling - there were actually flakes of tile in the tub. The tub/shower itself was a huge jacuzzi style that you had to climb up and over a foot-wide tile enclosure through a glass door to get into - very awkward, not to mention cold. The TV was ancient and had horrible reception. There was poor internet that did not support MAC at all and I never could get my husbands Windows format laptop to work with it either. Cleanliness was 5 on a scale of 10. Plumbing noise was loud and we could hear much of what was going on in the rooms on both sides. Valet was very nice, if over-eager, but everything requires their help (and thus a hefty tip) including fetching ice and all access to your vehicle (though out in the open and in plain sight) must be done through valet bringing the vehicle to you - so don't leave something in your car.

This resort is horribly over-priced for what they offer and with the exception of the valet staff, we were treated rudely from the get-go. We've never been so disappointed in what we thought was going to be a nice place. We cannot comment of the spa services as we didn't stick around to find out. We will not return.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
On behalf of El Monte Sagrado and The Kessler Collection, please accept my sincere apology for your experience last October. I am pleased to announce we have since made several enhancements to our property. The televisions in our rooms and the Wi-Fi network have been upgraded. Our staff has been through extensive training addressing many of the issues described in your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share such a detailed account of your stay. Again we sincerely apologize and hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

This was our third visit to El Monte Sagrado. We stayed in the Bali Suite which was very nice and comfortable. The grounds of this resort/spa are just beautiful. They are in the process of replacing their wooden soaking tubs in the private patio garden areas and we came back one afternoon to construction noise in the next courtyard. This is not what you expect at El Monte Sagrado which is normally exceeding quiet, peaceful, and restful. We complained and they quit their work for the rest of our stay! If you are staying at a suite with a private soaking tub, be sure to ask if there will be any construction going on at the time of your stay. By the time you read this review, the construction work could be completed. We didn't ask what the timetable for replacing all of the tubs would be. They were responsive to our concerns. We did have breakfast at the restaurant and the food and service were good. The parking is expensive, however, you are told of these fees up front so we had no complaints. Check in is always well handled and the service is excellent. I would not stay anywhere else in Taos. Convenient location.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
The best compliment we can receive is to welcome returning guests. We are thrilled your most recent visit to El Monte Sagrado was such a pleasant experience where you enjoyed the amenities offered. We look forward to seeing you again!
Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We went here to attend a wedding. It was a beautiful hotel/resort. Downtown Taos is within walking distance (about 8 to 10 minutes). The hotel staff was very attentive and courteous. We valet parked our car and sometimes took the complementary hotel shuttle when we went downtown. We stayed in the China suite and loved every minute of it. We had our own adobe fenced in patio with hot tub, a two room suite with a living area and two bathrooms. It was quite nice. The kids loved the indoor pool. Definitely a memorable experience for all.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
We are thrilled you had such a memorable experience during your stay at El Monte Sagrado and appreciate the positive review. Should your travels bring you back to Taos, we would love the opportunity to serve you again.

Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed two nights and was impressed by their staff and property. Very friendly atmosphere from the valet to the front desk which is a sit down and relaxed check-in. Nice touch for sure. Rooms are extremely comfortable with equally impressive bathrooms. Tried the restaurant for a couple of breakfasts and a dinner in the bar area with an easy atmosphere and service to match. The $12 self park or valet charge is a little irritating along with their $10 fee for in room internet. This day and time, internet should be a given and I am always perplexed at parking fees in small towns albeit a resort area. All in all though, I would recommend this hotel above the others when visiting Taos.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Thank you for your kind words regarding your visit to El Monte Sagrado. We are so pleased you enjoyed the friendly atmosphere and amenities. Please know your suggestions have been shared with the appropriate departments for improvement. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

The customer service at this place is terrific. Front desk staff (Aaron) went out of his way to make sure accommodations worked for our family. We ended up in a great suite that was a splurge but worth it. The housekeeping staff missed some things (unflushed toilet, cobwebs on the bed, etc.) so it wasn't across-the-board perfection. Work-out room is small and has only mediocre equipment; the mixing of cultural influences, with rooms representing Argentina, China, Morroco, Mexico, etc., is a little unfocused. But the grounds are quite nice, as is the view which is all Taos, all the time. Staying here for one night is a great treat.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
We are so pleased you enjoyed your night at El Monte Sagrado and found the grounds and view so enjoyable. We certainly hope to have the opportunity to serve you and your family again.

Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection

Address: 317 Kit Carson Road, Taos, NM 87571
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Monte Sagrado Hotel Taos
El Monte Sagrado Taos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.