We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Scenic Drive in NM!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Enchanted Circle Drive

Enchanted Circle Drive
Taos, NM
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 39 attractions in Taos
Type: Scenic Drives
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Scenic drive that circles through the Carson National Forest, north and east of Taos.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Scenic Drive in NM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were delighted by beauty of this scenic drive. The road loops in and out of the national forest and gives way to some awesome overlooks. There is a visitors center in Angelfire that will provide you with information on whatever activities you may be looking for, and the woman pointed us to a really great sandwich shop for lunch where the hospitality was beyond exceptional. Just be sure to go before the frost hits and the leaves fall off the trees, I think we missed peak color by about a week or so by visiting in mid-October.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    50
    17
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Taos, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“One of our favorites!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We started a habit by honeymooning in Eagle Nest several years ago, and have been drawn back almost every year. We love this area in October; it's not as crowded as in the summer. A lot of tourist attractions are closed by late October, but there is still a nice variety of shopping available. There are wonderful opportunities for fly-fishing and hiking. Red River is very touristy, but Eagle Nest and Questa are not, and very peaceful. Beware of car-sickness on the drive between Questa and Eagle Nest and between Angel Fire and Taos - very curvy roads. This area is our favorite place to go in New Mexico.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“beautifu beautiful beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We took this drive in October when the leaves were changing and it was magnificent. One lovely vista after another. We stopped i Red River, first at the visitor center to get trail info, then at the Pioneer trail hike. The hike was great and we had lovely scenery all around. We continued on from Red River and just took in the incredible scenery. Definitely worth the time.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallup, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful in the Fall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This drive takes you from Red River to Eagle Nest, Angel Fire, Taos, and then back to Red River. Our favorite part was the Moreno Valley just east of Red River because of the many vistas. Also, the little road just outside of Red River was by far the best as far as fall colors.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Not sure why 5 stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Yes, it was a nice drive, but my husband and I thought the drive from Sants Fe to Taos was equally as beautiful. Getting up to 9800 foot altitude was very impressive, Red River was really adorable.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enchanted Circle Drive also viewed

 
Taos, Taos County
Taos, Taos County
 

Been to Enchanted Circle Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enchanted Circle Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Enchanted Circle Drive to your Saves list