We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautifu beautiful beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Enchanted Circle Drive

Enchanted Circle Drive
Taos, NM
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 36 Attractions in Taos
Type: Scenic Drives, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic drive that circles through the Carson National Forest, north and east of Taos.
Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“beautifu beautiful beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We took this drive in October when the leaves were changing and it was magnificent. One lovely vista after another. We stopped i Red River, first at the visitor center to get trail info, then at the Pioneer trail hike. The hike was great and we had lovely scenery all around. We continued on from Red River and just took in the incredible scenery. Definitely worth the time.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    67
    23
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gallup, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful in the Fall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This drive takes you from Red River to Eagle Nest, Angel Fire, Taos, and then back to Red River. Our favorite part was the Moreno Valley just east of Red River because of the many vistas. Also, the little road just outside of Red River was by far the best as far as fall colors.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Not sure why 5 stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Yes, it was a nice drive, but my husband and I thought the drive from Sants Fe to Taos was equally as beautiful. Getting up to 9800 foot altitude was very impressive, Red River was really adorable.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin usa
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Fall drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Nice ride in fall. Towns are not worth visiting but the scenery is great. Couple of picnic spots and the vet memorial is nice.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Awesome scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Came to Taos specifically to take the Enchanted Circle Drive and was not disappointed. Simply breathtaking vistas of some of New Mexico's most beautiful country. Be sure to take a coat, as it can get cold very quickly at the higher elevations. This is a fairly short trip, but count on stopping numerous times at scenic turnouts and viewing points. We also stopped in Red River to walk around the downtown area. It took us about 5 hours for the round trip from and return to Taos. When planning your trip, call the forest service and they can tell you when they anticipate the peak time for fall colors is going to be.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enchanted Circle Drive also viewed

 

Been to Enchanted Circle Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enchanted Circle Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.