We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on La Loma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Inn on La Loma to your Saves list
Inn on La Loma
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   315 Ranchitos Road, Taos, NM 87571   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 26 Taos B&B and Inns
Canandaigua, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed three days at the inn and have mixed feelings. It felt like the owners were very preoccupied with something other than innkeeping. Each time we spoke to either of them they were on the computer and I felt like I was intruding. They were nice, but certainly not warm. Other reviewers talk about how warm they are so I am assuming it was a bad week for them..
The room was nice, comfortable and clean. However I was surprised to have microfiber sheets in a room where I was paying more than $300 a night for. The coffee maker in the room was very nice. It was a short walk to the plaza. The breakfasts were very delicious.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    18
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
155
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Benicia, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed here recently for two nights, and was delighted with the room, amenities, service, location, food. It is a classic Taos-style adobe building (original part dating from the 1800s) that has been lovingly restored, maintained, and expanded without losing any of its old New Mexico charm. Located on a small plaza a little way from the main Taos plaza (easily walkable), and a few blocks off the busy highway through town on a slight rise, so the surroundings, including the beautiful grounds, are very quiet and peaceful as a result. The room I was in (second floor, main building) was intimate (it is an old adobe, after all!), quite charming and very well-appointed. The innkeepers, Peggy and Jerry, are as nice as can be, very helpful and welcoming. They provided information on getting around (including local-knowledge tips on getting around the traffic jam that is now downtown Taos), things to do, made dinner reservations, and offered up a home-cooked delicious breakfast each morning using fresh, local foods. I loved the fireplace in the room (woodbox is refilled each day). A wonderful stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLORADO SPRINGS
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

WE spent a weekend at Inn On La Loma and loved the very southwest feel and look to it! Great location within walking distance to the downtown area (although not much lighting when walking back home at night). Our room was on the second floor = it had a Kiva fireplace, a sunken bathroom and a outside balcony. Bed very comfy, room was quiet and very comfortable. Our hostess Peggy was wonderful - great breakfast (which she will accommodate for allergies), great recommendations with specific details. The one downside is that it advertised snacks from 3:30 to 8PM and both days there was nothing available. I would recommend looking for Groupon specials for this quaint B & B.

Room Tip: We had room 15 on the second floor. Cozy with a small couch and reading/writing desk and great balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmore, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I strongly suggest spending time here to relax. Unwind & be in close proximity to walking for access to the center of town/plaza.. The owners have made this a beautiful. ,simple retreat that is welcoming & serene.. Breakfast is included
& they have taken special care to deliver outstanding local food

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

With 90% of the reviews rating the Inn on La Loma Plaza "excellent" it should not have been a surprise that we would be delighted by our stay here. But the proprietors just seemed to take it one step further to make our stay an outstanding experience. Our room was superb: large, clean, and well-appointed located in a nearly new wing of a 200+ year old historic compound. Our breakfast also exceeded expectations: fresh squeezed OJ, a smoothie, eggs, fresh fruit, great coffee, and warm friendly service. The Inn's location is outstanding, just a few block walk from the center of all activity on an around the Plaza. What more could one want? Stay here, you'll love it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We loved the Inn on La Loma! We stayed in the "Happy Trails" room which was very cozy. The fireplace was wonderful and it even snowed while we were there. Jerry was helpful and friendly and Lacy was the best! The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The grounds are beautiful and well-kept. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta_GA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband Jack and I loved our stay in Taos NM at the Inn on La Loma Plaza. It was like going back in time, especially with all the history attached to the Inn. We stayed in the "Happy Trails Room" that was done in a western style, with pine paneling everywhere. There were beautiful views from the windows, and there was also a lovely outdoor patio to sit on. The house itself was
very charming and the outdoor gardens were beautiful. The treats in the afternoon and the breakfast in the morning was delicious. Of course, the innkeepers Jerry and Peggy Davis were
most accommodating, friendly and made our stay memorable.

Room Tip: The room was small, but cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on La Loma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on La Loma

Address: 315 Ranchitos Road, Taos, NM 87571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on La Loma 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn on La Loma Plaza is an historic Taos landmark located near the downtown Plaza providing intimate and luxurious accommodations. Sequestered behind high adobe walls, the Inn has expansive grounds, towering trees, and commanding mountain views. The spacious guest areas feature high ceilings, fountains, green plants and quiet corners. Most rooms have private patios or decks, sitting areas in front of the wood-burning fireplace, mountain views and include a full breakfast. One-bedroom studios, one and two-bedroom suites with kitchenettes are also available. AAA Four-Diamond rated for twelve years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn on La Loma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On La Loma Hotel Taos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on La Loma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.